A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

January Goals (lots of goal talk this week!)

on January 8, 2015

With my food and running goals for the year established, I need to turn my attention to the steps I’ll need to take to achieve those goals each month. I’m going to make a more conscious effort to keep my bigger goals for the year in mind each month as I set my short term goals, so that everything hopefully builds together to a fantastic 2015!

Complete my first RunDisney challenge safely and smiling! A week from now, I’ll be flying (solo – sorry boys!) to California for the Rebel Challenge. I can’t quite believe that a) my first trip to Disneyland is going to be without my husband and my son and b) that I’m actually going to run a 10K on Saturday and a half marathon on Sunday. When I tell people I’m going to California next week for a race and they ask “what race”, the look on their faces when I explain makes me think I might be just a little crazy. Then I remember all of the people who started the Dopey Challenge today in Walt Disney World (good luck everyone!) and feel like my little 10K/half marathon is not so bad after all. πŸ™‚ Regardless, I want to have fun and stay safe so I can meet my bigger goals this year of a half marathon PR and 100 miles of races.

This is getting REAL now!

This is getting REAL now!

Don’t fall apart during the taper: For Des Moines, I ended up not running much at all during my two week taper and I think it really messed with my mind. When I tried to run, I felt stiff and achy. When I wasn’t running, I felt heavy and guilty and noticed every little twinge in my body like it was a huge injury. I have a plan to run 3 days this week and a couple of easy runs next week before the race to keep things limber, but not over do it. The super cold weather is not helping, but I admit that I did jog in place for a while on Monday morning this week just to move while I was watching TV (The Librarians – cheesy fun).

Stick with My Fitness Pal and weekly weigh ins all month (except for Disneyland): I know that there’s enough variation in how my clothes fit and my body feels and my weight changes from day to day and week to week that I need to give it at least a month before I decide if I like something or not. That means no stepping on the scale on a random Saturday, seeing the number go up and deciding to toss the whole plan out the window. πŸ™‚ I will stick to Tuesday morning weigh ins, reported here on Wednesday for accountability. I will not weigh in the Tuesday after Disneyland because I know that number will be skewed by travel, the back to back races and flying, so I’m not going to let that number throw me off stride. Weighing in the next week will be a much more reliable bit of data. I’m also not going to try to track at Disneyland. I’m going to make good choices and allow myself a few treats and treat it like a normal person treats vacation. And get back to tracking when I get back on Monday. Setting this intention now will avoid that feeling of “cheating” when I get my Dole Whip. πŸ™‚

Track 64 ounces of water a day: In trying to improve the quality of my diet, I really want to focus on drinking more water and less soda. I have a tendency to tell myself that I’m drinking plenty of water, but this month I’m going to track it and prove it to myself. It turns out I actually drink a lot more water when I have to track it. I also haven’t had a soda yet in 2015. Those two things are probably related to each other.

Take 70,000 steps a week: Another thing that will help my sub-2:30 half marathon goal and my “stay in my size 6 pants” goal is moving more when I’m not running. I’ve got into a bad habit of slacking off if I’m not running. I want to preserve the rest I know my legs need with big runs, so instead of 10,000 steps a day, I’m shooting for 70,000 steps a week (so I can have lighter days after my 20K step running days). I admit, this week I’m probably not going to hit that target but I am going to be sure that doesn’t happen again!

Strength train twice a week: If I’m going to stay injury free (Lincoln Half Marathon training will need to start pretty much as soon as I get back from California), I need to take better care of my body overall. That means sleep, yoga, foam rolling and strength. This month, I’m going to focus on strength to try to build the little bit of momentum I’ve got from doing my strength exercises several Mondays in a row now into a more established habit. Next month, I’ll tackle one of the others.

Put away all of the Christmas decorations: Totally a personal, non-fitness related goal but it will definitely help my stress level if I get that nagging “to-do” of storing the Christmas decorations correctly off of my plate before the end of the month.

I’m writing these goals and the steps I need to take to reach them in my planner at the top of each week, rather than on the big monthly page like I used to. Hopefully that will help me keep them in the front of my mind this month!

On a personal note, my 13 year old dog is being sedated today to have her teeth cleaned. Now that she’s a little old lady, I worry any time she has a procedure like this (as much as I know she needs it), so I’d appreciate good vibes for me and my Abby girl today.

My Abby, a Welsh Terrier. I've known her longer than I've known my husband!

My Abby, a Welsh Terrier. I’ve known her longer than I’ve known my husband!

Good luck to everyone running the 5K in Disney World today and all of you crazy people kicking off the Dopey Challenge! I love seeing all of the pictures and experiencing it with all of your without actually having to tackle all of those miles myself. πŸ™‚

5 responses to “January Goals (lots of goal talk this week!)

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow!!! Sounds like lots and lots of running!! So much fun!! I’m sure you’re going to have an amazing trip to Disney. Disneyland!! Yay!! I also need to drink more water. I don’t drink nearly enough fluids! Yoga is fabulous for preventing injuries!! YES! Have a happy Friday!! XOXO

  2. […] the Rebel Challenge and a trip to Disneyland, and at the end of it, some hits and misses in the goals department. I definitely succeeded in my goal of finishing the Rebel Challenge safe and smiling. I […]

Leave a Reply

