A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Running Goals for 2015

on January 6, 2015
Because it’s the beginning of the year, both I and the Tuesdays on the Run ladies have goals on the brain. Without further ado, here are my running goals for 2015 (shaped more than a bit by the resurgence in running enthusiasm I’m experiencing as I approach another RunDisney event!).
Run a half marathon in less than 2:30. I know I can absolutely do this. I know that my body can absolutely do this and could have done this at the Des Moines half marathon. My problem? My brain gets in the way. This year, that isn’t going to happen. I registered for the Lincoln Half Marathon (see more about that crazy experience here), which will be May 3. It’s a fast and flat course at a beautiful time of year, so there is no excuse for not laying it all out there. I’m going to use the Train Like a Mother half marathon Finish It plan again, which I used for Des Moines. Looking back through my training notes, I loved that plan and was running strong and fast up until the last month where I let a lot of little things derail me. That’s not going to happen this time. My goal is to run sub-2:30 in Lincoln. If I don’t do it there, I’ll be running Des Moines again in October. We’ll talk more about the concrete steps I’ll be taking to get across the finish line in 2:29:xx once I start that training plan.
Run all of a 5K: I’ve only actually run all of one 5K, the Midnight Run back in October 2013. Isn’t that crazy? I remember the huge feeling of  accomplishment I had then. I love the run-walk for long races, but I really want to step back to basics a bit after the Lincoln Half Marathon and focus on 5Ks for a couple of months, building back up to running 3 miles without a walk break. I’ll use a combo of the Train Like a Mother 5K plans for this one as well (modified based on my fall race goals and where I am after the Lincoln Half).
Race 100 miles this year: This is Darrell’s goal for me, which I told him I was fine with so long as he was okay with all of these race registration fees. 🙂 This particular goal came about when we realized that my plan for the year already includes three half marathons at minimum (Star Wars, Lincoln and Wine and Dine), two 10Ks at minimum (Star Wars, July 4th), another half marathon or 10K in the fall, depending on how Lincoln goes, the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race (loved it last year!) and the Boys Town 5 mile race (loved it last year and already registered O & I again for this year). Add to that the 5K I’ve already run, plus running the Castaway Cay 5K again this year and the Jingle Jungle 5K in November and I’ve got already got a minimum of 88.2 miles scheduled! When I think about the fact that my goal for 2013 was the run four 5K’s, the idea of running 100 miles in a year is astounding. Darrell established some rules – a real, not virtual race and a race requires a registration fee, a medal and/or a t-shirt. I’ll add a new tab on the side to keep track of this one!
I'm going to be add a lot to this collection this year!

I’m going to be add a lot to this collection this year!

Build a consistent strength and flexibility regimen: With these running goals, I need to stay injury free. That means finding a way to be consistent about strength and flexibility. I think that keeping my mindset on the importance of doing these exercises not just because “I should,” but because they’ll keep me safe and in good form for these ambitious goals for the year, will be helpful. I’ve also started writing in my schedule each week what my designated days are for strength and yoga, as well as incorporating stretching every night (which has the bonus of helping with sleep!).
This should make for quite the exciting the year. 🙂 Along the way, I’ll be doing Laura’s 5 by the 5th challenge (which should fit nicely into the training for everything else, so that’s just a fun bonus).
Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and April for hosting Tuesdays on the Run!
What are goals for 2015?
11 responses to “Running Goals for 2015

  1. Kristin says:

    Awesome goals!! You got ’em!! You’re so strong and I know you’ll achieve anything you put your mind to!! Go you!! XOXO

  2. […] my food and running goals for the year established, I need to turn my attention to the steps I’ll need to take to achieve […]

  3. You’re going to kill that half marathon goal 🙂

  4. […] things One Day at a time. I’m all about goals (clearly, as I’ve written about food, running and monthly goals all within the last 10 days!) but it’s easy to lose track of enjoying the […]

  5. […] of goal making. Definitely go over and check it out. I’ll be adding my own goal – sub 2:30 half marathon here I […]

  6. […] when we talked about running goals for the year, I said that one of my goals is to run a half marathon sub-2:30. I think my legs and […]

  7. […] back at my running goals for the year, I think I’m actually doing fairly well […]

  8. […] totally counting that as meeting my goal for a sub-2:30 half marathon this year. ☺ Yes, I’ll still work to get it on an official race […]

  9. […] terms of my goals for 2015, I totally smashed the “100 miles of races” part with a grand total of 117.8 miles of […]

Leave a Reply

