A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Finding a little oomph in the New Year

on January 4, 2015

This year is starting off very nicely, in terms of some great workouts and a great sense of motivation and optimism. I have a feeling 2015 is going to be a great year (knock on wood – don’t want to tempt fate too much!).

In keeping with my goal of focusing on more than just the workouts, I have to say that I’m feeling really good about my food choices so far this year, in terms of quality and making peace with food. I’m working on decreasing my soda intake this month and actually haven’t had one in days – for sure so far in 2015, but I can’t remember the last one at all. I’m not looking to eliminate them entirely, but just by making iced tea at home and drinking water in restaurants, it turns out it is not too hard to cut them down! Yay for me. 🙂 In terms of balance, we went out last night to a local tapas place and I didn’t freak out about calories or points or anything. I just really enjoyed what I ate (OMG they do a bread with tomato and serrano ham that is totally to die for) and if I tasted something that was “meh”, I didn’t finish it. It was an amazing exercise in eating like a normal person. 🙂

I have a couple of things on my gratitude list for this week: 1) I have a three year old that I can actually take out to more “grown up” restaurants like the tapas place because he’s generally well behaved and willing to try new foods; and 2) Next week daycare is open full time so that three year old can get back to his normal routine a bit. This first full week back at work/school will be tough for all of us, but a bit of a relief too.

I’m not sure I’ve done a definite good deed for the week, other than bringing carts into the grocery store (which my dad always said we should do to help out the poor cart boys), finishing my thank you cards for Christmas gifts and doing lots of text message trouble shooting and supporting for a couple of friends with sick kids (’tis the season), but I’m planning on spending the afternoon working on sorting out Goodwill donations from the closet, so that will make up for my lackluster week in terms of giving back. We were the recipients of a good deed – someone bought my lunch with Oliver on New Year’s Eve which was a nice surprise.

Now on to the workouts (which will include my NSV for this week!):

Monday Strength training with bridges, planks, push ups, clam shells, supermans and lots of other little body weight exercises.

Oliver was working out with me and conked out after bridges because they were "hard and weird".

Oliver was working out with me and conked out after bridges because they were “hard and weird”.

Tuesday Four miles on the treadmill to test out the Star Wars t-shirt I’m going to wear for the 10K next week. No chafing from the t-shirt, although I did get a little irritation from my sports bra so I’ll need to remember that in California. With all of the running I’ve done out in the cold, I haven’t sweated as much so chafing or using BodyGlide hasn’t been a concern for a couple of months but working out in the warm gym reminded me of the places I’ll need to pre-treat in the warmer California weather.

Wednesday Rest day!

Thursday I planned to run 6 miles today, to start off my last Rebel Challenge simulation. I had signed up for my gym’s 5K (more to come tomorrow on that) and as soon as I finished, I headed right back out to finish up 6 miles. It was super cold but was otherwise a good run.

Friday Today I did 11 miles, my last long run before I started to taper for the Rebel Challenge and I have to say, this run was great! I ran in the park, which meant more pauses to walk than I felt like taking just because of the icy patches.

There were some parts where it was just too slick to run, but other patches were completely clear or I could run on the grass.

There were some parts where it was just too slick to run, but other patches were completely clear or I could run on the grass.

I ran the loop around the lake in its entirety, which I’ve never done before. I usually just loop one half or the other. I’m fascinated by the frozen lake. As a southerner, we almost never saw a body of water get and stay cold enough to freeze this deeply and certainly not anything this big! I enjoyed watching people out playing out it in some places.

I was tempted to try to walk on it but don't want to risk injury this close to the race!

I was tempted to try to walk on it but don’t want to risk injury this close to the race!

I stopped at a port-a-potty part way around the loop and apparently didn’t get my leggings all the way back up because I ended up with chafing in the little crease between my butt and my thighs. I guess I do still have a little bit of a butt despite my husband’s laments since I’ve lost weight. 🙂 Definitely the weirdest place I’ve ever chafed! My NSV for this week is my mindset during this entire run – instead of lamenting how slow I was going because of the icy conditions (which actually ended up being faster than my last couple of long runs anyway), I spent the whole run exulting at how awesomely strong my legs are now that they could carry me through 6 miles on Thursday and 11 miles on Friday. Not only did they carry me through 11 miles on Friday, they carried me to a closing kick uphill to my car to finish the run. Woo hoo! It was a great note to end my training on (plus the super cute deer playing that I got to see as I was coming in).

Saturday I totally embraced this rest day and ended up with a total of 2200 steps for the day, a tenth of Friday’s total. 🙂

Sunday Today I’m planning on some yoga and some snow shoveling, plus another round of strength training. I’ve discovered a great way to sneak in strength moves during the day. I spend a lot of time waiting in bathrooms for Oliver to get done. He’s insistent on doing things himself, which takes a while. Today, during our many potty stops in the 2.5 hours we were out for our breakfast date and grocery run, I did wall sits while I waited for him to finish up. Our Village Inn manager laughed at me when she caught me, but slipping in little strength exercises may be the key to finally incorporating them into my weekly routine!

Lori the Village Inn manager walked in just as I snapped this pic.

Lori the Village Inn manager walked in just as I snapped this pic.

I hope you guys all had a great week as well and are getting the New Year off to a safe and healthy start. Good luck to everyone preparing for Walt Disney World Marathon weekend! Anybody else have tips for sneaking strength training into your everyday life?

Leave a Reply

