A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Christmas moments

on December 26, 2014

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! Daycare is closed from Christmas Eve through Monday the 29th, so we have a really long weekend here at home. I thought I’d share some of my favorite moments from our Christmas day. We had a lot of fun and a lot of family time, which is all I really ask for. 🙂

Oliver insisted on reading his books as we opened them, including this incredibly cute book about peanut butter looking for his perfect playmate - jelly of course. :) I love how much he loves books!

Oliver insisted on reading his books as we opened them, including this incredibly cute book about peanut butter looking for his perfect playmate – jelly of course. 🙂 I love how much he loves books!

We also put puzzles together as we opened them, including this awesome one from Pinhole Press that was actually made from one of our family photos.

We also put puzzles together as we opened them, including this awesome one from Pinhole Press that was actually made from one of our family photos.

O's big gift was a toy kitchen, which we didn't wrap and just left in the corner waiting to see when he'd notice it. He absolutely loved it and we ate lots of salads and tea and soup as he cooked all day.

O’s big gift was a toy kitchen, which we didn’t wrap and just left in the corner waiting to see when he’d notice it. He absolutely loved it and we ate lots of salads and tea and soup as he cooked all day.

I spent quite a while contemplating which new book I wanted to dive into first. I decided to save the Oatmeal and As You Wish for my trip to California in a few weeks and have started with Dinner: A Playbook (am I the only one who reads cookbooks like any other book?)

I spent quite a while contemplating which new book I wanted to dive into first. I decided to save the Oatmeal and As You Wish for my trip to California in a few weeks and have started with Dinner: A Playbook (am I the only one who reads cookbooks like any other book?)

Hubby got lots of new board games, which meant the two of us got some quality time in playing a couple of new versions of Ticket to Ride. Maybe tonight we'll tackle Settlers of Catan? Board games are our favorite at home date night!

Hubby got lots of new board games, which meant the two of us got some quality time in playing a couple of new versions of Ticket to Ride. Maybe tonight we’ll tackle Settlers of Catan? Board games are our favorite at home date night!

We had a great Christmas dinner, with the best turkey I've ever made - Williams Sonoma Dry Brine rocks! - and Oliver saying our prayer before we ate, giving us a chance to talk about why we celebrate and how important it is to remember that it's about more than the presents.

We had a great Christmas dinner, with the best turkey I’ve ever made – Williams Sonoma Dry Brine rocks! – and Oliver saying our prayer before we ate, giving us a chance to talk about why we celebrate and how important it is to remember that it’s about more than the presents.

I hope you guys had a great holiday! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Christmas moments

  1. Sounds like a really wonderful Christmas! I need to try Settlers of Catan! I think that would be one we’d like!

    • It took as long to figure out the rules as to play the game and it would definitely be better with more players, I think. We’re going to try out some of the 2 player modifications.

      On Mon, Dec 29, 2014 at 9:31 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

