A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Christmas Eve Snack-a-thon

on December 24, 2014

When we got married, my husband and I decided to establish some new traditions of our own to celebrate our new little family. My favorite of those is our Christmas Eve Snack-a-thon, a day devoted to watching our favorite Christmas movies all day and eating all of our favorite snacks all day rather than worrying about any real meals. In the “old days”, we’d consume literally thousands of calories in cheese and chocolate and other treats. Now, we try to balance things a little more.

This year’s menu includes fondue (hubby’s request), shrimp cocktail (my lighter option to balance things), veggies with ranch Greek yogurt dip, homemade cheese straws, meatballs and pigs in a blanket. Sweet treats include Rice Krispy treats, oatmeal fudgies and a gorgeous fruit salad. We’re trying to balance our indulgent choices with some healthier options. Fondue is definitely on the more indulgent side, especially when you consider that Darrell’s favorite thing to dip in cheese fondue is chicken nuggets (which horrifies my friend who got the recipe for us from her time in Switzerland).

Isn't that fruit salad gorgeous? I intentionally put the healthy things in my prettiest serving pieces to dress them up a bit.

Isn’t that fruit salad gorgeous? I intentionally put the healthy things in my prettiest serving pieces to dress them up a bit.

So, after my disappointment in gaining weight after being so good at Thanksgiving (and the scale still reading 175.9 this week), how I handle prepping all of these treats without going overboard in tasting and nibbling before I get to the main event?

My to do list for today (I love crossing things out on a list)

My to do list for today (I love crossing things out on a list)

– I prepped my normal breakfast to eat while I was starting the kitchen fun, both to start the process without being hungry and to start things on the “right foot” as a mental reminder of how I’m supposed to eat.

Somehow eating my usual breakfast always helps to keep me in right mindset about food choices for the rest of the day.

Somehow eating my usual breakfast always helps to keep me in right mindset about food choices for the rest of the day.

– I make sure that I’m prepping something healthy like the veggies or fruit salad at the same time as the most tempting thing for me in terms of nibbles (oatmeal fudgies on this year’s menu). Just having that visual reminder or even better, the taste of a fresh veggie in my mouth while I’m looking at all of that chocolate and peanut butter helps dull the cravings.

Oatmeal fudgies are my husband's favorite. It's blasphemous to him, but we'll also be testing out a healthier version today, with bananas and applesauce. I'll let you know how they turn out!

Oatmeal fudgies are my husband’s favorite. It’s blasphemous to him, but we’ll also be testing out a healthier version today, with bananas and applesauce. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

– Making the menu ahead of time means that I’ve had plenty of time to plan my choices so that I save points/calories for the things I really want rather than wasting them along the way.

– As you can see from my to do list, I’ve also got activity on the menu today both as a reminder that I have healthy goals in life and as a way to balance some of those tastes and bites along the way.

Now I’m off to make the Rice Krispy treats on the list with Oliver. We’re going to spread them out thinly and use cookie cutters to cut them into fun shapes before adding sprinkles. It should be quite the adventure! Rice Krispy treats are surprisingly low in points, so it will be a fun treat to share with my guys today.

What are you Christmas Eve traditions?

PS Wish us luck – O woke up with pinkeye today and it’ll be a Christmas miracle if he can keep his germy 3 year old fingers to himself enough to keep Darrell & I from getting it.

 

Leave a Reply

