A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

My year in pictures

on December 23, 2014

Today the lovely ladies at Tuesdays on the Run (April, Patty and Erika) are hosting a link up all about your year in pictures and I have to say that looking back through all of these pics was exactly the boost I needed on this grey Christmas Eve-Eve (am I the only one who considers this a holiday?).

Without further adieu, here is my year in pictures:

I still remember and love this moment :)

I still remember and love this moment 🙂

How can I not start with Princess? It certainly dominated the first of the year, with planning, running and basking in the glow of my first half marathon and my first Disney race. It was really such a feeling of accomplishment and joy and I love looking at those pictures again to relive those moments.

March 2014 had us entering the world of worm farming (going strong by the way!).

March 2014 had us entering the world of worm farming (going strong by the way!).

In March, I eased back into the less glamorous world of non-Disney running with the Diva Dash. We also started our worm farm, which has quadrupled in size since that time! It’s amazing how much of our produce leftovers they consume.

Okay, maybe the Diva Dash was only a small step down in "glamour" from Disney. It was definitely more festive than your average race!

Okay, maybe the Diva Dash was only a small step down in “glamour” from Disney. It was definitely more festive than your average race!

April had me crossing Illinois off my “50 states to run in” list

Running along the lake in Chicago

Running along the lake in Chicago

April also brought the huge NSV of finally resizing my engagement ring!

Every day I am reminded of how far I've come when I touch this ring.

Every day I am reminded of how far I’ve come when I touch this ring.

The highlight of May was definitely running with Oliver in his first kids race at BoysTown here in Omaha. It was such a blast and I can’t wait to do it again next year!

Oliver & I running his first 400 meter race

Oliver & I running his first 400 meter race

I also took a big road trip with Oliver down to Oklahoma to visit my parents. O got to go fishing for the first time and had a fantastic time. He actually eats fish now because “GrandDad took me fishing.”

O's first fishing trip

O’s first fishing trip

June brought our first family race, including Darrell! We did a one mile family run/walk at our local park. Darrell said he’d just buy the t-shirt next time. 🙂

Now that I think of it, I haven't seen Darrell even wearing this shirt this race. Maybe a more positive experience for Oliver & I than Darrell?

Now that I think of it, I haven’t seen Darrell even wearing this shirt this race. Maybe a more positive experience for Oliver & I than Darrell?

In July, I ran a 10K for my birthday and went running Montana to cross it off of my 50 states list. Montana was so gorgeous! I confess I enjoyed the hiking (complete with a coffee in my “water bottle”) on those cool mornings as much as the running.

Gorgeous morning hike

Gorgeous morning hike

August brought a lot of crazy humid training runs, including big hair and awkward sweat stains, and Oliver’s 3rd birthday. I can’t believe my guy is getting so big!

This was after a particular rom-com worthy kiss on the mouth from my guy. We're normally kiss on the cheek types but Amy asked him to kiss me on the lips and he took it very seriously, which made me and Darrell nearly die laughing.

This was after a particular rom-com worthy kiss on the mouth from my guy. We’re normally kiss on the cheek types but Amy asked him to kiss me on the lips and he took it very seriously, which made me and Darrell nearly die laughing.

September brought a highlight of the second half of my race year, the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race. I set a goal to finish that race strong, without slacking at the end like I tend to do in races, and I’m proud to say I did it! As a bonus, I was able to sustain a fast (for me) pace through that race, so I know I can do it when I put my mind to it. I just need to work on putting my mind to it more often. 🙂

Not a great picture, but it makes me remember how hard I pushed up that little hill to finish!

Not a great picture, but it makes me remember how hard I pushed up that little hill to finish!

October brought lots of travel, including running in Pennsylvania and Maryland on the same day, and the Des Moines half marathon. I highly recommend the Des Moines half marathon – awesome race organization, crowd support and a lovely flat course!

Official time 2:32:48, which I'm happy with! New PR! Plus, I met my A & B goals -- had fun & ran strong!

Official time 2:32:48, which I’m happy with! New PR! Plus, I met my A & B goals — had fun & ran strong!

In November, I got admitted to the hospital for the first time as an adult, which was an eye opening experience and a challenge for our whole family. Thankfully, I recovered uneventfully but it definitely feels like it threw a wrench in the whole month. I also started my back to back training runs for the Rebel Challenge coming up in January and had a great time visiting family for Thanksgiving.

Loved checking out Christmas lights at Thanksgiving to kick off the holiday season!

Loved checking out Christmas lights at Thanksgiving to kick off the holiday season!

Now December is here and it feels like the month (and the year) have just flown by! It’s been so incredibly busy all year and looking back at all of the pictures, I’m reminded of how many good times I’ve had this year. Thanks for this Tuesday on the Run topic ladies! Be sure to go join the link up to share your own photos of the year!

Here's hoping we all have a lot of fun over the holiday weekend!

Here’s hoping we all have a lot of fun over the holiday weekend!

 

8 responses to “My year in pictures

  1. Congratulations on your races. The medal is an awesome one! I would love to run in all 50 states.

  2. d20girl says:

    Love looking at all those pictures! I know what you mean about your ring, I couldn’t wear my wedding ring for a few years and now that it fits again it makes me so happy.

  3. Sounds like an awesome year! Your little guy is adorable! I need to do an Iowa half, so I have that one on my list as a potential now. Hope you join us again in 2015! For the last 2014 Tuesday, we’ll be doing a wrap up of yearly goals!

Leave a Reply

