A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Giving gifts to myself . . .

on December 20, 2014

The last three months are some of the most exhausting of my professional life. With illness and the usual mom and wife duties and the holidays thrown in the mix as well, it’s no wonder I’m running on fumes. It didn’t help that yesterday in the midst of an Ebola drill on campus, my parents texted me to ask if it was okay for them to come visit this weekend instead of next weekend like we’d planned. Of course I said yes because we want to see them, especially because O gets so little time with his grandparents, but we had a weekend full of plans that we now have to shuffle to fit in things like finishing wrapping their gifts (and buying the gifts in my dad’s case!) and planning for dinner that’s more than pizza since they will be here. It’ll be great to see them but it definitely added to the chaos of the last 24 hours.

This morning, I thought I was going to finally have a little time to relax with Christmas music playing, a cup of coffee and time to make Christmas treats with no distractions.

I forget sometimes just how much I enjoy baking.

I forget sometimes just how much I enjoy baking.

Of course that isn’t how it worked out. Within a few minutes, there was crying for no reason from Oliver, who I suspect is a little overstimulated by all of the holiday events at school this week coming on the heels of his stomach bug and resultant lack of sleep. So instead of happily toodling in the kitchen, I found myself supervising time out with a brewing headache (whining progressed to tantrums and other mischief).

Right now, in this moment, I’m promising these gifts to myself between now and January 2 so that I can start the new year on a fresher foot and reward myself a bit for all of the hard work I’ve put in this year (and this morning – oy!):

– As soon as my husband gets home (out finishing shopping for my dad before my parents get here at 2 – nothing like the last minute right? Thanks babe!), I’m heading out for a 5 mile run (my first in almost two weeks between work and the stomach bug!) with a new-to-me podcast loaded. I’ve heard great things about Serial and am starting it today!

– I need one more purchase on my Starbucks card before 12/27 to keep my gold status and I’ve already decided it is going to be Starbucks peppermint mocha as a reward after tomorrow’s 10 mile run. Even better, it’s going to consumed while at Starbucks reading a magazine, not on the run to my next task.

image– I always get books under the Christmas tree, so I’ll be sure to spend an evening in the bathtub with a new book and a cup of tea.

– I’m converting the giant walk in closet in my basement into an office so I have some dedicated work space here at home (instead of the dining table). I’m going to actually take the time to get that done over this holiday weekend instead of just daydreaming about it. I’ll be sure to share pictures!

Honestly, it helps just to sit here with a cup of tea, running clothes on, writing about these things. This ten minute break feels like its own kind of gift. 🙂 It helps that I told Oliver that if there was anymore whining today, he wouldn’t get to open the presents Nana was bringing with her today and would have to wait. He’s been cheerful and helpful ever since then. It’s funny how those things work out. I definitely feel re-centered now and ready to tackle divinity again (which I’ve already failed once today – candy is tough!).

What gift would you like to give yourself this holiday season?

 

One response to “Giving gifts to myself . . .

Leave a Reply

