A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Stomach bugs are not my favorite weight loss strategy

on December 17, 2014

There’s no weigh in this week because it would feel like cheating. Everyone in my house has been felled by a stomach bug, probably norovirus given the time of year and our symptoms. I’m sure I’ve lost weight but as that wouldn’t be a sustainable number, there’s no sense looking at it and getting disappointed next week when I’ve gained (i.e. rehydrated).

My husband got sick first on Sunday afternoon, followed by O at 2:30 Monday morning. I knew the clock was ticking for me when I managed to doze off at around 5 am after O had stopped vomiting only to be awakened by little fingers tracing my mouth and asking “what you doing Mama?” Sigh. I’m a great hand washer but when the germy fingers go directly in your mouth, you’re pretty much screwed.

I didn’t get sick until 5 o’clock Tuesday morning, which got me through work all day Monday which was good. I was up at midnight answering a phone call for work and felt perfectly fine then. It’s amazing how quickly these things come on. I hung out at home all day yesterday with my heating pad on my aching belly:

Amazing helpful in managing both the chills and the belly aches.

Amazing helpful in managing both the chills and the belly aches.

Plus some time in the tub with the jets running. Warm water moving over my abdomen is my favorite comfort when I have a sore stomach for any reason. I used to lay in the tub and let the shower run, but none of the showers in our house are well suited for that (should have thought of that when we were shopping!). I was pleased to see that the jets in the tub have almost the same effect:

Plus, in the tub I could play on the iPad (with it in a gallon Ziploc bag) which I couldn't do in the shower, even bagged.

Plus, in the tub I could play on the iPad (with it in a gallon Ziploc bag) which I couldn’t do in the shower, even bagged.

I’m easing back into eating now, but all light bland things. We had a potluck to attend tonight but as all 3 of us have had this in the last few days, I think going to something with so many opportunities to spread germs (mostly O) is a bad idea. I’d hate to get someone else sick.

At least we all got this now and not next week, right? My husband lost 6 pounds and figures he has room now for lots of Christmas treats (although his appetite still isn’t back either). As for me, only toast with Laughing Cow Swiss cheese sounds remotely edible. Here’s hoping we shape up before our fancy chocolate class on Saturday!

This is the season for norovirus, the stomach bug that causes most of the cruise ship outbreaks and most of the stomach bugs in the US. It’s very contagious, with just a few viral copies capable of causing disease. It’s shed in stool and if you get copies of the virus from the stool in your mouth (try not to think too much about it) you get sick in 12-48 hours. It usually only lasts a couple of days, but it’s a miserable couple of days. The virus lives on surfaces for up to 4 weeks which is part of how it spreads so easily. Check out the CDC’s site for more information.

Wash your hands! It’s the best defense against this bug and so many others circulating this time of year. I definitely do not want anyone else going through this, no matter how much we’d like to lose a few pounds. 🙂 As for me, I’ll be rehydrating and easing back into normal food. Stay well everyone!

7 responses to “Stomach bugs are not my favorite weight loss strategy

  1. Awww sweetie, I was hoping that you would be spared! Booo! Well, tis the season, I suppose! Rest up, drink plenty of gatorade and watch some holiday movies with O.

  2. Kristin says:

    Ohhh no!!! I hope you guys feel better!! Thinking about ya!!! XOXO

    • We’re recovering now thankfully. I’m continually amazed at how resilient kids are – O bounced back faster than either my husband or I did!

      On Wed, Dec 17, 2014 at 9:55 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote: > >

  3. […] week, we started off by all three getting that nasty stomach bug. We’re all recovered now, aside from still feeling the effects of lost sleep. It’s been […]

Leave a Reply

