A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Busy Busy Busy (and late!)

on December 13, 2014

Wow has it been a busy week here! So busy that even though I wrote this post Friday it isn’t going up until Saturday! I had to laugh at myself as I got coffee to recharge for more work Friday evening and was doing calf raises and leg lifts against the coffee shop counter. That’s the only kind of exercise I’ve gotten in this week other than running around a lot at work!

Next week, things should settle down and I’ll be doing lots of holiday baking to share with coworkers and potlucks, etc. The Weight Watchers guide on Surviving the Cookie Swap is a good place to look for guidance in navigating the scrumptious baked temptations of the season. I really like the idea of immediately packaging anything that you’re planning to give away in pretty little packages, so you’re not tempted to skim a little for yourself.

This morning I read this fantastic blog post thanks to some Facebook browsing while waiting on the elevator (horrible habit, I know). Nicole wrote it a year ago but it is a message I know I need to be reminded of every day. It is so frustrating for my husband, who probably was just checking me out when he was looking at me in my skirt this weekend, to tell me that I’m beautiful only to have me discount or brush it off. My goal for the new year (starting a little early) is to practicing believing him. Part of what I love about him is that he’s honest and trustworthy – maybe it’s time I start treating him that way by respecting what he says about me. πŸ™‚

I don't normally have quite this much skin above the knee showing! I'm an old lady :)

I don’t normally have quite this much skin above the knee showing! I’m an old lady πŸ™‚

Lots of people will be looking to jump start their healthy lifestyle in the new year and Laura has two challenges to help you get on track that you should check out. There’s a healthy eating group and a 5 by the 5th running challenge, which I’ve signed up for. I’ll need to run a 5K distance run before the 5th of every month for the first half of the year. It’s a fun new kind of goal, so we’ll see how it goes. Check out more details here and sign up (it’s free!).

One of my goals for the month was to do good deeds and I definitely wanted to share my favorite from this week so that you could try it too if you’d like! We mailed a Christmas card to Walter Reed hospital (and will probably send more), where they are distributed to recovering soldiers. There are some people in the world you can’t thank enough for their good deeds and our soldiers are definitely in that group. We sent ours to “A Recovering Solider, c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center, 6900 Georgia Av NW, Washington DC 20307”. Speaking of good deeds, check out Pam & Christine’s post here for more ways to give back during the holiday season to help out.

Wildy decorated inside by Oliver. :)

Wildy decorated inside by Oliver. πŸ™‚

I hope you all have a good weekend! I’ll be working through the weekend, but hopefully can get at least one workout in somewhere. Otherwise, I’ll be finding ways to sneak it in here at work! Maybe running stairs is in my future. Or push ups and planks in my office?

4 responses to “Friday Favorites: Busy Busy Busy (and late!)

  1. Kristin says:

    Have a lovely weekend!! Make sure to make some time for your beautiful self!! You really are beautiful and gorgeous, so believe your husband!!! Rock it!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ Love the outfit!!

  2. Awww you look awesome in that cute little skirt! Your hubby was right! πŸ™‚ Hope you have/had a good weekend!

    • Thanks! It’s a weekend I feel I’m surviving more than anything else. I’m looking forward to next weekend being a bit more relaxing.

      On Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 7:50 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote: > >

Leave a Reply

