A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Practicing positive self-talk

on December 9, 2014

This weekend, we had a holiday dinner to attend for my husband’s job. I’d gotten a new skirt from Banana Republic to wear for the party and it was a bit shorter than I was expecting:

I don't normally have quite this much skin above the knee showing! I'm an old lady :)

I don’t normally have quite this much skin above the knee showing! I’m an old lady 🙂

I’m really proud of myself for practicing positive self talk all evening.

– I’d think that my legs were way too big to be showing off this way and remind myself that they weren’t big – they were strong, strong enough to run for miles.

– I’d catch my husband checking out my rear view and worry that my skirt was too short in the back and remind myself that he was probably just thinking his wife was hot. 🙂

– Every time I got out of my chair, I found myself pushing my skirt down as much as possible and then reminded myself no one else was thinking about how I looked as much as I was.

Ultimately, I was able to block every single one of those negative thoughts which I haven’t been able to do so successfully before! Major NSV and definitely played into the fact that I was able to stick to my plan of only one bite of the decadent chocolate dessert, rather than letting my self consciousness lead to me a binge. 🙂 I’m even finding myself looking forward to my next chance to wear that skirt.

Anybody else have any victories to celebrate?

 

5 responses to “Practicing positive self-talk

  1. What a great NSV and you look amazing! That skirt really suits you and I’m sure your hubby was proud to have you on his arm. 🙂 And another NSV that you were able to just take one bite of that dessert (I’m sure I could not have done the same!). I think my NSV this week is that I’m on a 9 day streak of tracking my food and activity on MFP. Not every day has been below my calorie goal, but getting in the habit and being aware is a big step forward. Hope you are doing well!

    • That’s fantastic! I’m seriously considering a switch to MFP because it’s free and it’s the tracking as much as anything else that’s important. I’m just reluctant to learn a new system and start thinking in calories instead of points. If I make the switch, I’ll definitely look you up on MFP!

      On Tue, Dec 9, 2014 at 4:06 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. This is awesome! ANd the skirt itself looks adorable on you 🙂 I think one of the hardest things to improve on is negative self talk, so this is a huge victory!

  3. […] of every day. It is so frustrating for my husband, who probably was just checking me out when he was looking at me in my skirt this weekend, to tell me that I’m beautiful only to have me discount or brush it off. My goal […]

Leave a Reply

