A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Thankful Thursday & Slow Cooker Posole

on December 4, 2014

As a working mom, my slow cooker definitely stays near the top of my gratitude list. Rarely does a week go by without using it and this week, we’ve used it twice so far!

My hardest working kitchen tool. :)

My hardest working kitchen tool. 🙂

I thought I’d quickly share the first slow cooker recipe I made this week because it’s ridiculously easy and tasty. It’s a posole-inspired pork soup and could not be easier. I just combined all of these ingredients in the slow cooker, with no browning or pre-cooking:

2 cans drained hominy

1 jar salsa verde

1 onion

1 green bell pepper

1 bag frozen corn

1 pork tenderloin (1 – 1.5 lbs), cut into bite size chunks

1 can fire roasted tomatoes with garlic

1 32 oz box unsalted vegetable stock

Cook it all on low for 8 hours.That’s it. If you wanted to get more complicated and boost the flavor a bit, you could brown the onion, bell pepper and pork before tossing them in the slow cooker but I got great flavor without that extra step. The classic topping would be thinly sliced radishes and cilantro, but we weren’t that fancy on a Tuesday night. 🙂

 

This week, I’m also very thankful that my bill from the first ER visit was a lot cheaper than I was expecting. 🙂 I’m also thankful for my Under Armour Cold Gear tights that allowed me to run last night amidst these glorious Christmas lights.

These flash in a fantastic dancing pattern among the trees!

These flash in a fantastic dancing pattern among the trees!

I hope you find many things to be thankful for this week!

4 responses to “Thankful Thursday & Slow Cooker Posole

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh yum, it looks so good! I love your blog, your posts are all so lovely ❤ I'm glad I discovered your blog!

  2. Oh wow that looks so yummy! I’ll have to give that one a try too!

Leave a Reply

