A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Thankful Thursday: Happy Thanksgiving!

on November 27, 2014

This is of course an especially important day to express thanks for the many blessings in my life. I truly hope that I can carry these things and this awareness of gratitude with me every day, not just today.

I cannot imagine what my life would be like if I wasn't part of this glorious little family of mine.

I cannot imagine what my life would be like if I wasn’t part of this glorious little family of mine.

– Today and every day, I am so grateful that I get to be wife and mother to these two wonderful guys. They challenge me to be my best self in the best ways and make my heart swell with a kind of love that I never imagined. Knowing that Darrell is always, always on my team empowers me to do so much I could have never imagined and knowing that Oliver “loves [me] more than Batman” carries me through the toughest moments. I am not sure there are thanks enough in the world for the gratitude I feel for having been blessed with these two.

– I am grateful for my work, which challenges me intellectually, provides for my family financially and lets me make the world a better a place, which is all anyone can ask for, isn’t it?

– I am grateful for my home, which keeps us safe and warm. So many people, no less deserving than I, don’t have a place to call their own. I hope I never get so comfortable in my life that I forget how fortunate I am in these things.

– I am grateful for this space, that allows me to talk to myself and connect with so many lovely people all at once. Thank you all for your support, your ideas and your virtual friendship!

– I am so grateful for my health, especially after my brush with the hospital this month. I am glad that I finally took steps to improve what parts of my health I can control, in terms of diet and exercise, a little over two years ago. It’s amazing to think how much my life has changed in such a short time, in terms of decreasing my diabetes risk and getting rid of high blood pressure medication.

I'd really like to avoid this patient thing again for a good long while!

I’d really like to avoid this patient thing again for a good long while!

I hope you all are having a day full of peace today. Happy Thanksgiving!

7 responses to “Thankful Thursday: Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. This post gives me warm fuzzies 🙂

    • Writing these posts gives me warm fuzzies too. 🙂 Even though we think of November as our “Thankful” month, I’m contemplating keeping this feature up because it made me so happy to reflect on these things each week.

  2. HappyThanksgiving to you and yours.
    Your post was beautiful!
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

  3. […] Gratitude: I loved this goal! Reflecting every Thursday on the things I was grateful for was such a mental boost in my week in the midst of all of the […]

Leave a Reply

