A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

My Runner’s Holiday Gift List

on November 24, 2014

Despite the fact that my husband and I agreed that my Christmas gift was going to California for the Rebel Challenge at Disneyland, I know he’s still going to buy me gifts because that’s the kind of guy he is (I’m a lucky girl). To help him out (and anyone else out there looking for gifts for the runner in their life), here are a few of the things on my wish list this year. Note to Darrell: All of these things are linked on my Amazon wish list to make life easier for you. 🙂

Running-themed books: On my wish list this year are My Life on the Run by Bart Yasso, The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matthew Inman (aka The Oatmeal) and Marathon Woman by Kathrine Switzer. From everything I’ve heard and samples I’ve seen, as well as interviews with Bart Yasso and Kathrine Switzer, these offer quick doses of humor and inspiration to keep the runner in your life motivated and entertained. Other books I’d suggest would be Running Like a GirlRunner’s Guide to Yoga and Train Like a Mother, all of which I got as Christmas gifts last year and loved  (check out my reviews here and here).

Cold weather running gear: If I want to keep running in Nebraska through the winter, I really can’t have too much cold weather gear, right? On my list this year is a buff, this neck warmer/ear warmer/anything you’d like it to cover accessory, which I heard about on the Mickey Miles podcast’s holiday gift idea show (check it out here for more ideas). I could also use more long sleeved shirts and tights and personally like the Cold Gear from Under Armour. The tights I have from them keep me warm without feeling too suffocating and I love that their shirts are long enough to cover my lower back, since my height is really all in my long torso. I’ve also heard great things about the Icebreaker line, which is made from Merino wool, so I’ve got one of their tops on my wish list to try out.

Rebel Challenge tools: A few weeks after Christmas, I’ll be heading to California for the Rebel Challenge, with a 10K on Saturday followed by a half marathon on Sunday. Thinking about that weekend and the things I’ll need to optimize my recovery between races, as well gear I’ll need to get through two races, I added a) an extra pair of compression socks and b) the Stick – in the small, portable size – to my wish list. I have one pair of compression socks, but I’d like a second pair so that I can wear one pair after the 10K Saturday to help my legs recover in time for Sunday’s race and then a second pair after the race on Sunday, since I’ll be flying back home to Nebraska that night. My legs will definitely appreciate the added support on that plane ride home. The Stick will also hopefully help with recovery between and after the races and will fit in my luggage much better than my current foam roller. 🙂 I’ve also put a foldable yoga mat on my wish list, so I don’t slip and slide on the hotel room carpet.

My little "recovery corner"

I can’t bring my “recovery corner” with me on the plane, so portable options are my wish list!

Fun runner samples: In last year’s “Stocking stuffers for Runners” post, I talked about including fuel and electrolyte options in your runner’s stocking, which I still think is a great idea. Those are definitely things the runner in your life can’t have enough of (ditto for extra socks, always great, and extra gloves, especially in cold weather!). If you don’t like the idea of assembling your own goodie kit (understandably – runners can be finicky, so you don’t want to pick the wrong thing) there are now lots of sample-box subscription services, which would be a fun gift. After all, you never know what you’ll like until you try it and these boxes can help introduce the runner in your life to new snack and accessory options. Here are a couple of nice reviews of the various subscription services out there (Just Me and My Shoes review and Runiverse review). I particularly like the Stridebox idea, with accessories and snacks to try, but they all look fun (and who doesn’t love getting mail?).  I actually got to do this, in a small way, for a co-worker last month. She was getting ready to run her first half marathon and had reached the point where she was needing to experiment with fueling. I brought her samples of all kinds of things I had at my house because I’d tried a lot of different things over the last year of plus of running while I was trying to find what worked for me. Giving her the chance to experiment with several different types of fuel without having to stand at the overwhelming fuel wall at the running store trying to choose what to buy was fun (and hopefully helpful for her!).

I love having a variety of goodies in the running snack box. :)

I love having a variety of goodies in the running snack box. 🙂

Tomorrow I’ll have some other healthy, non-running gift ideas to share. What’s on your gift list this holiday season?

3 responses to “My Runner’s Holiday Gift List

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Yes to all of these! My athletes bought me the Terrible Reasons book and it is the perfect book for a coffee table. Everyone loves it. Last year I bought my husband Mark Remy’s Running A-Z (which he will personally sign). It is hilarious.

  2. […] My Runner’s Holiday Gift List Nov […]

Leave a Reply

