A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Randomness induced by post-hospital fatigue

on November 14, 2014

I forgot an important thing in yesterday’s thankful list:

Aren't they gorgeous?

Aren’t they gorgeous?

These lovely flowers from my lovely co-workers! Such a great cheery note in my hospital room this week! O loves having new flowers at home too.

I’m going to apologize right off the bat for this being a little random and poorly organized! My brain is still getting back in gear post-hospital. In no particular order or relation to each other, these are the things I’m loving this week:

– In light of my post a few weeks ago wondering what running would be like if I never got faster, I really appreciated the ideas set forward in Miss Zippy’s post this week When Your PRs are Behind You. I love the focus on setting new types of goals and finding new ways to enjoy running and stay motivated. There are always new distances and new types of events to check out!

– I read yet another article this week pointing out that there is no evidence that any one diet approach (Weight Watchers, Atkins, etc) is better than any other. It’s just a matter of finding what fits best for you, that you can stick with as a lifestyle change for the rest of your life. Weight Watchers clearly worked for me, but if it doesn’t work for you, it doesn’t mean you can’t lose weight; it just means you need to find something that’s a better fit for you. Check out this article from Reuters summarizing the latest new research!

– Part of being in the hospital this week has meant catching up on my favorite blogs, like Shelley over at My Journey to Fit. She’s been such an inspiration as a runner and a weight loss maintainer in such a realistic way. πŸ™‚ I really appreciated “No Milkshake for You“, demonstrating that all of us have to stay in the habit of mentally making the conscious choice to get back on track after a weekend or holiday or long run. It gets easier with time (which I really appreciate seeing in someone else!) but has to stay part of your mindset, for sure. I also really appreciate her healthy perspective on exercise. It’s about so much more than weight loss, which I try to remind myself with non-scale victories all the time. She recently wrote a great post on Getting More from Weight Loss than Expected that touched on all of the great things she’s gotten from exercise beyond just helping with weight loss, in terms of challenging herself and building lasting friendships. I honestly wish I could join up with her running club! Or that I was runner back in the day when I lived in College Station so I could have sought them out then!

– Last but certainly not least, after a week in a hospital bed this 12 minute better posture workout on Sparkpeople is just what I need. I’ll be testing it this weekend and let you guys know about it. My back is still aching from all of that time in a hospital bed!

I hope you guys all have a great weekend! Stay safe and wash your hands so you don’t end up sick like me!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Randomness induced by post-hospital fatigue

  1. Shelley B says:

    Wow, thank you for such a lovely shout out! I really appreciate your kind words, especially today. πŸ™‚

    Glad to see you are feeling better – here’s hoping you’re done with being sick for a long while now! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

