A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Thankful Thursday #2

on November 13, 2014

It’s a definitely a health and hospital themed gratitude list this week. πŸ™‚

I’m so grateful that I have access to excellent medical care when these once-in-a-blue moon bad luck things come up. They’ve taken such great care of me at UNMC/Nebraska Medicine this week and I’m glad to be on the mend! There are so many people in other parts of the world and even people here in the US without access to this kind of medical care. We are truly blessed.

The rolled towel animal in my hospital room was a bit of a silly touch, I admit.

The rolled towel animal in my hospital room was a bit of a silly touch, I admit.

I’m grateful that I can now swallow again! It was so panic-inducing Monday morning to realize I literally couldn’t swallow even my own saliva without choking thanks to the big mass in my throat! My goal for the shift when I first got admitted was really straightforward:

Swallow: Simple, straightforward goal for the shift. :)

Swallow: Simple, straightforward goal for the shift. πŸ™‚

It was so fantastic once the steroids kicked in and I was able to swallow by evening. πŸ™‚ Medicine is beautiful. I can even eat sort of normal food now – I love oatmeal but branching out is nice!

I’m grateful that I’m nearly back to normal and back home to sleep in my own bed. The hospital is definitely not a good place to rest! Thankfully, my mom drove up to help with O until I get back on my feet. We owe her hugely, especially since it’s super-duper cold up here this week. πŸ™‚Β She gets to hang out with this goofy guy which is probably payment enough for her services.

Fantastic goofy holiday themed glasses at Target!

Fantastic goofy holiday themed glasses at Target!

I’m grateful for my wonderful, light new Windows Surface Pro 3 that has made it easy to keep with some essential work tasks (and internet shopping/browsing) while I was stuckΒ in the hospital. Technology is beautiful, even if it does take away the excuse of being in the hospital to let work slide a bit. My co-workers have been so great about helping out while I’m out of service, for which I’m so thankful!

I am under strict orders from my husband to take lots of naps and get some rest this week until I’m back on my feet. Hopefully Nana will stay with us at least until Friday morning to help us out with O a bit so I can rest. I have a feeling he won’t be keen on going back to daycare today and leaving me home without him to rest, although he’s taking this whole “Mommy’s sick” thing really well. Hopefully Nana will hang around today to help me entertain him and get some rest too. πŸ™‚

What are you grateful for this week?

4 responses to “Thankful Thursday #2

  1. Aww so glad you are doing better. I think you need to listen to your hubby. REST UP WOMAN! πŸ™‚

  2. Glad to hear that you are doing better and that you are getting pampered. And as much as oatmeal is awesome, it has to be nice to be able to eat real food!

Leave a Reply

