A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Silly sights on a Saturday run

on November 11, 2014

Despite the fact that I’m now in the hospital (on the mend, I promise), I felt good enough Saturday to get out for a run and it was one of those runs that was just full of ridiculous little moments. Those are my favorite kinds of run! It was gorgeous day and having lots of things to see along the way made the time go by quickly, so it was a fairly painless 6 miles. Perfect for my first back to back run in this training cycle!

Living in the suburbs and running in the first week of November, naturally there were still some Halloween decorations, including this Hulk pumpkin I snapped for Oliver:

O thinks his name is officially "Hulk Smash" which I love. :)

O thinks his name is officially “Hulk Smash” which I love. 🙂

Naturally, there were also people already hanging Christmas decorations. My husband is absolutely insistent on no Christmas decorations until after Thanksgiving so it gets at least little holiday respect in our house. I love that a neighbor apparently also embraces Thanksgiving as its own holiday worth decorations, with this awesome giant turkey in their yard:

 

When O saw this pic, he insisted we drive by it so he could see it in person.

When O saw this pic, he insisted we drive by it so he could see it in person.

We worked with O to make some little pom pom turkeys to decorate our own house for Thanksgiving, along with leaving out a lot the pumpkins I have that aren’t Halloween specific.

O did this one himself, which turned out well other than the sideways tail. They're very easy kits at Target, doable even for this craft-limited family.

O did this one himself, which turned out well other than the sideways tail. They’re very easy kits at Target, doable even for this craft-limited family.

I spent so much time distracted by looking at people’s decorations (definitely still mostly leftover Halloween, with a few early Christmas houses and the one with the big turkey) that I made a klutzy wrong turn into someone’s yard!

I nearly ended up in their yard!

I nearly ended up in their yard!

There’s a sidewalk on the other side of this house that leads down to the park and I didn’t realize I’d turned down the driveway by mistake until I stumbled off into the yard. Oops! Thankfully, the house is for sale so there’s hopefully no one living in there to witness that.

This was the pretty little path I was aiming for.

This was the pretty little path I was aiming for.

I don’t even any pics of the funniest little episode, despite the fact that it was definitely the most photogenic. I came running down a hill to see a woman out in her front yard with a grey mini-greyhound type dog and a poor white dog spray painted in pink and blue patches. I would have absolutely tried to get a pic if the owner hadn’t been in the yard. As I was marveling at the pink and blue colored dog and wondering what they possibly could have been decorating that poor white dog as for Halloween, I suddenly found myself being chased by that dog’s little grey dog of a friend who quite improbably named Oliver. So odd to hear someone yelling my own kid’s name after me as I hustled on by. 🙂

When do you start decorating for Christmas? My husband would really prefer waiting until December 1st, whereas I’ve always decorated the weekend before Thanksgiving just so I can enjoy it a little longer (a habit that started years ago when I was the single and farthest flung member of the family, so always the one that traveled for the holiday). We’ve comprised on waiting Thanksgiving has its day, which means I always have Christmas music ready to go on Black Friday. 🙂

 

4 responses to “Silly sights on a Saturday run

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Hope you are feeling well. I love those pumpkins and the turkey. I love Christmas decorations but I am holding out until after Thanksgiving. My husband would prefer it that way 😉 I did see someone had a tree up in their living room last night when I was out for a walk.

    • I definitely need to hunt down some Avengers themed pumpkins for O for next year. I suspect little boys don’t outgrow their superhero obsessions very quickly. 🙂

      On Tue, Nov 11, 2014 at 10:18 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Oh that poor dog! And poor you for being chased :p I like waiting until after Thanksgiving to decorate. I love Christmas decorations, but I like giving Thanksgiving its own time, too. So I just leave my Christmas decorations up until like February.

    • That’s a great compromise! Sometimes ours stay up that long out of necessity, just because we can’t slog through the snow to get them down before then!

      On Tue, Nov 11, 2014 at 10:42 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

