A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Week one of Rebel Challenge training done!

on November 9, 2014

Have you guys seen the pictures of the medals for the Star Wars races in Disneyland in January? They’re very cool! Check them out here.

This week has been much more satisfying than last week, in terms of workouts, despite being sicker than I’ve been in a long time. I was supposed to start my Rebel Challenge training plan on Monday and am happy to say that I got in almost all of the designated workouts for the week.

Workouts

Monday: Cross training on the schedule, which ended up being only a ten minute walk around the block, but that was enough to put me over my 7,000 step a day goal and to make me feel like I was taking a step in the right direction, exercise-wise. Nothing like getting back on the wagon in a gentle way! I also did plank/push ups for the day to meet those challenges. 17 pushups and a 30 second plank were very doable, but I know that’s going to get a lot tougher as the month goes on!

Tuesday: Originally, I had a 4 mile run on the training plan. My Garmin was dead, so I just headed out to run by feel for about 40 minutes. It was closer to 3 miles than 4, I’m sure, but it felt good to get back out there.

Wednesday: I had speed work on the plan, but that was probably overreaching for my first week back to running. Adding to that, it was my sickest day of the week in terms of fever and body aches, so I ditched the workout completely.

Thursday: Cross training or rest on the plan and I took the rest option given how sick I was feeling. I knew I had back to back workouts coming Friday and Saturday, which are the most important in terms of getting ready for the Rebel Challenge, so I decided to rest up for those workouts.

Friday: As I talked about yesterday, I did a lot of reading and self-evaluating before deciding I was well enough to head out for an easy run-walk on Friday. I had 3 miles on the schedule and finished it in 12:45 pace, which was a lot speedier than I felt like I was going. πŸ™‚ With these back to back runs, I keep reminding myself that the goal is to keep these runs easy so I can cover the miles on back to back days, not to go faster. I was sure to do a lot of stretching that evening so my legs would be in good shape for 6 miles on Saturday.

We've officially reached the dreary downside of fall.

We’ve officially reached the dreary downside of fall.

Saturday: The best thing about the cooler weather in fall and winter is that I don’t have to wake up early to run because it’ll be too hot later. πŸ™‚ I headed out Saturday afternoon for my 6 miles and it felt easy and painless, which was fantastic after coming off a bigger than planned break and running 3 miles just the day before. I was honestly worried that 6 miles would feel too hard between my bug and my two weeks off post-half marathon, but it was almost too easy. That’s exactly how I like to start a training plan. πŸ™‚ I was again at 12:45 pace, but I wasn’t watching it at all during the runs.

After Saturday's run, I awarded myself my cool 9 3/4 K medal (=6 miles) that I got from a very fun Harry Potter themed virtual run series. :)

After Saturday’s run, I awarded myself my cool 9 3/4 K medal (=6 miles) that I got from a very fun Harry Potter themed virtual run series. πŸ™‚

Sunday: Rest day, but I’ll still try to get in a ten minute walk to meet my goal of ten minutes of exercise every day and I’ll have to make up my plank and pushups from Saturday today, along with Sunday’s assignment because last night was pretty rough in terms of my seeming never-ending illness. Ugh. I’m mostly better but left with this huge really sore lymph node on the right and I’m ready for it to go down!! If I can make up those planks and pushups, I’ll have marked off all of those workouts in the first week which is great. I’m up to 20+ push ups, which is a lot for me, and 60 second planks. Next week we get into truly uncharted territory, where I may have to split those planks and push ups into two sets.

Overall, this feels like a good week of workouts. Next week I’ll step up to 3.5 miles on Friday and 7 miles on Saturday. For most of next week, our highs are in the 30s so I’ll be hauling out my cold weather running gear to get it all done but at least it isn’t icy yet! Despite being sick, I’ve also made sure to eat all of my points (or as much as possible) so that I’m fueling these workouts appropriately. I will say, as much as I love my oatmeal, I’m ready to eat more normal food.

I hope you guys all had a great week!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Week one of Rebel Challenge training done!

  1. Kristin says:

    Such great workouts!! You’re so dedicated to fitness!! Fabulous to read your posts!! Cooler weather makes running very pleasant!! I SO agree!! Have a lovely week!! XOXO

  2. You had such a great week! I LOVE THAT HARRY POTTER MEDAL! Ahhh that’s awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

