A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Low calorie comfort foods

on November 5, 2014

Ugh. I’m sick. Sore throat, headache-y, swallowing razor blades sick. Darn slobbery germy kisses from this little guy.

imageThus, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about low calorie options for soothing a sore throat and illness in general. Of course, I’m drinking loads of water because I feel constantly dry. I’m having no trouble hitting my 64 ounce goal for the day! My lovely husband also made me some sugar free apple cider last night, which was much appreciated because I was freezing!

I confess, I like this stuff so much I bought in bulk from Amazon!

I confess, I like this stuff so much I bought in bulk from Amazon!

I find myself craving breakfast food when I’m sick, like the bowl of oatmeal I had for dinner last night.

There is something so soothing about oatmeal.

There is something so soothing about oatmeal.

I also made some Greek yogurt with PB2 (powdered peanut butter) last night – okay, my husband made it – because the cool coating felt good on my throat. I think I’m going to pick up some fruit based frozen bars at the grocery story today, because that seems like it would help too and there are lots of options out there without much added sugar. I’ll let you know how my little taste test comes out!

Other good light options for soothing winter viruses include soups, especially those that are broth based or heavy on the veggies as opposed to cream (like this one). There are lots of good ideas out there online as well, including this slideshow on Eating Well that comes with a downloadable recipe book and this one from Cooking Light with lots of ideas. I confess, my favorite comfort food is an ooey, gooey grilled cheese sandwich. I think that’s all I ate for the first half of my pregnancy! Poor itty bitty O swam in toasty bread, butter and cheese for months. 🙂 These days I’m more likely to fill that craving with toast made with the Sara Lee light bread and a Laughing Cow cheese wedge.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Yesterday, I stepped on the scale for my official weigh in day and it registered 176.3, which had me up 1.8 pounds. I was a little frustrated because I know I’ve been on plan and am feeling so much better, in terms of my reflux going away and feeling less bloated. I reminded myself it was just one week and I was going to just “keep on keepin’ on” as my goal for November was to stick with tracking. As a lark, I stepped on the scale today to see how things looked after my bad night of sleep because I typically gain weight when I sleep badly and to my surprise, I was at 173.5, which is down a pound from last week and almost 3 pounds from Tuesday! Don’t you hate when that happens? Still, I’ve set Tuesday as my official weigh in day so that’s the number I have to own. At least today’s number reassured me that I really am moving in the right direction. Don’t worry, I’m still getting all of my points in for the day even though I’m sick.

What are your favorite comfort foods or drinks when you’re sick?

2 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Low calorie comfort foods

  1. Hugs! Hope you feel better soon! I’m feeling the same sore throat, feverish, general blech. So much so that I took a sick day today, which I rarely do anymore. I’ve been loading up on soup and broth and juice. That sugar free apple cider looks and sounds delicious! I forgot about popsicles! I might have to pick some of those up tomorrow! Breakfast for dinner is always a winner in my book, too. 🙂 Isn’t the scale such a fickle beast? It can be so frustrating! Feel better soon!

    • I think I’ve maybe turned the corner a bit today, but that may be just my optimism speaking. At least I had an appetite today, which is an improvement. If only my sore throat would let me swallow! I’ll be picking up some popsicles on the way home today, especially since my husband now has this too.

      On Wed, Nov 5, 2014 at 11:05 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

