A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Lazy recovery week

on October 26, 2014

There really haven’t been many workouts to recap at all this week. I was planning on running a couple of times through the week, with a 4-6 mile run this weekend. Instead, my only workouts have been a 30 minute run on Friday and a 30 minute walk Saturday. I’m not really sure what happened, other than life getting in the way, but I did at least get lots of steps in on the days I wasn’t working out.

The run I did get in was gorgeous and checked Utah off of my list (more pics coming later)

The run I did get in was gorgeous and checked Utah off of my list (more pics coming later)

More importantly for my week, I’m feeling like I’m getting back on even keel in terms of eating. I’ve tracked everything, had lots of water and stuck my October goal of no eating after 9 pm.

Non-scale victories for the week:

– I ate room service several times in Utah and after the first night, I asked them not to send the yummy rolls with dinner. I had the points for both of them the first night (and they were DELICIOUS) but knew I only got away with it the first night because I essentially fell asleep as soon as I finished dinner. No need to tempt fate unnecessarily. It felt a little like admitting weakness to the complete stranger on the other end of the room service line, but that’s better than setting myself up for failure.

– I’ve tracked every bite I’ve eaten since I got back on the wagon Monday morning.

– Saturday morning I went for a walk on the hotel treadmill before the conference got started early in the morning. Not the most exciting workout, but it was movement and that counts.

– I didn’t eat a single cookie despite them sitting them out at EVERY SINGLE BREAK this meeting. I drank loads of coffee as a distraction, but none of the baked goods.

Doesn't this look delicious? It was a vegetable stack, with a vegan gardenburger, Portobello mushroom, and all of those other veggies.

Doesn’t this look delicious? It was a vegetable stack, with a vegan gardenburger, Portobello mushroom, and all of those other veggies.

I’m flying home today and am so glad this is the last trip I’ll be taking without my guys until the Rebel Challenge in January. I fly home through Minneapolis, which I know has a great healthy salad bar and market for a healthy lunch. Plus I promise myself that I’ll get in at least a 30 minute walk while I’m on my layover. Next week, I’ll make a more concerted effort to get runs in so that I’m ready for the Rebel Challenge training plan to start in a week.

I hope you all had a good week! Do you already have your Halloween candy? I think I have enough for our usual number of trick or treaters, but who knows how much candy is left after Darrell has been home on single parent duty for a few days yet again this month. 🙂 He’s totally earned every bite.

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Lazy recovery week

Leave a Reply

