A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Getting back on track

on October 24, 2014

 

I slept 11 hours last night, got in my first run of the week and am now sitting listening to some excellent science which reminds me why I travel to meetings like this. I’m in a much better emotional place than yesterday. Its amazing what a difference a good night of sleep makes. ๐Ÿ™‚
It's amazing how much better I feel after eating loads of gorgeous healthy veggies this week! Good food definitely makes me feel good.

It’s amazing how much better I feel after eating loads of gorgeous healthy veggies this week! Good food definitely makes me feel good.

This week, I got back on the wagon in terms of tracking my food and reining in my eating a bitย  after this weekend’s struggles.ย I spent a lot of time thinking about my experiences in the last couple of years, what worked and what I wanted a healthy diet to look like going forward. This article from SparkPeople is a great guide for evaluating any eating “diets” or changes in your eating plan that you’re considering. It has sane and concrete questions to consider when you’re looking at your options. It’s a good starting point if you’re considering a change! I also enjoyed this article about some general rules for weight loss – sane and doable tips!

I have lots of sympathy for Denise’s struggle with balancing family and training. It can be so hard and I don’t think there’s a right answer. We just need to constantly check in to be sure we’re spending our day in a way that reflects our priorities and that keeps things moving in the right direction. Some days that means training takes priority but that means other days, family gets to take first place. The holidays are definitely a time when family takes first place. Coming out of two months where it feels like our family life has been all about me and my job, I’m looking forward to November and December, where things will focus more on our family. In looking at my training plan for the Rebel Challenge (posting next week!), I’ve made sure to allow for a light week on Thanksgiving so I don’t have to sacrifice too much family time (although I definitely will need some running for sanity and to burn off goodies!).
As much as I love sweets, I don’t struggle as much with Halloween, thanks to getting a stomach bug a couple of years ago that hit as trick or treating was starting. It ruined a lot of my positive associations with Halloween and candy for sure! If you do find yourself tempted by all of the treats at Halloween, these tips are a great way to start to help yourself on track. We wait until close to Halloween to buy candy (don’t worry they won’t run out!) and then leave it sealed up in the big bags until trick or treating actually starts. Any extra layers between us and the treats are a good thing, right? I also make sure we have a healthy dinner planned and some healthy snacks on hand so that whichever parent is supervising the distribution of candy doesn’t get tempted to grab some out of the bowl for themselves too! How do you get through Halloween without going candy crazy?
Lastly, if you’re need a little motivation heading into the weekend, check out Bari’s huge PR! It is so inspiring reading about the payoff from all of the hard work she put in on this training cycle. Congrats!!!
Have a great weekend everyone!
2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Getting back on track

  1. Denise says:

    So happy you were able to get some good sleep and good food! Thanks for sharing my post and that you struggle too. It helps to know we’re not alone in trying to balance it all ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

