A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Race Day edition!

on October 19, 2014
As this posts, I’m probably waking up with a mix of excited race day nerves (who are we kidding – I’ve probably been up for a while and too keyed up to sleep!). At 8 am, I’m toeing the line of the Des Moines Half Marathon, celebrating the end of my 13.FUN training cycle and reminding myself of my race day goals.

This has been a light workout week, with lots of focus on hydration (check!), healthy food (check!) and rest (mostly check!) as race day approached.

Getting my fill of salads early in the week, since I won't be eating these closer to race day.

Getting my fill of salads early in the week, since I won’t be eating these closer to race day.

Workouts

Monday 3 miles or cross-training on the schedule, but I confess I didn’t get around to anything as I was at a conference from 8 am until 10 pm, with a brief flying trip out to west Omaha to have dinner with my guys. I’m glad I decided to take the opportunity to get some extra sleep this morning instead of waking up early to get a workout in. I desperately needed the sleep.

Tuesday 3 miles, with the last 10 minutes at Race Pace. This run was going fairly well, with things nice and easy, until I stumbled over an uneven chunk of sidewalk during those last 10 minutes at race pace! In catching myself, I wrenched something in my left hamstring and mostly limped home. I did lots of foam rolling and stretching as soon as I got home and that evening, in hopes of getting things settled back down ASAP.

I was really enjoying the fall scenery before the stumble - I'm going to hate it when the neighbors start raking!

I was really enjoying the fall scenery before the stumble – I’m going to hate it when the neighbors start raking!

Wednesday 2-3 miles: I actually did this naked, without the Garmin, running what I know is a two mile route from my house. I didn’t want to push at all after Tuesday’s pulled hamstring and wanted to see how things really felt. I occasionally felt some tightness in my left hamstring, but never pain, which was really reassuring.

Thursday Rest!

Friday 30 minutes running, with 3-4 strides at the end. Such a classic fall evening, with crunching leaves, the smell of fire pits and the sound of distant high school football games. Those strides felt really good! No pain in my hamstring, so I think things are good to go (but I did bring my mini-roller to keep up my rolling on Saturday night before the race).

Saturday In the training plan, this is race day. In the book, they suggest a 15-20 minute shake out run or nothing on this day if your race is on Sunday rather than Saturday. Just for the sake of nerves, I did a short little loop through the park on Saturday while I was out taking care of a work task before we hit the road for Des Moines.

Sunday Race day! Send me all of your best vibes for safe and happy and non-rainy running! Checking Iowa off of my 50 states list today and getting some new bling to show for it!!

Here's the bling for the 13.FUN virtual race - so cute!

Here’s the bling for the 13.FUN virtual race – so cute!

Leave a Reply

