A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: On the road again! Or in the air anyway!

on October 12, 2014

As this posts, I am hopefully getting through security in Baltimore and getting ready to start my trek home. It’s officially a week out from the Des Moines Half Marathon (and weather.com says it’s going to be raining, but let’s hope that changes by the time we arrive!) and I’m coming off a week of good workouts and tasty, but definitely off-plan food. 🙂

 

A very tasty mixed grill plate at the Indian restaurant we visited

A very tasty mixed grill plate at the Indian restaurant we visited

I was in Philadelphia from Wednesday to Friday morning and took advantage of all of the yummy ethnic food available there. I had Middle Eastern, Indian, Thai and Malaysian food (Malaysian was a first for me!) and enjoyed every bite. I tried to make healthy choices, but definitely didn’t worry too much about whether or not the things I was eating were on the Power Foods list or not. I had yummy naan at the Indian place – not a Power Food. I had pad thai at the Malaysian place – not a Power Food. I even had a single glass of wine with friends one night. I didn’t track a bit of this. I’m sort of proud of myself for letting myself take advantage of the foods available, like a normal person, without going overboard, but do wish this had happened because I planned it ahead of time rather than stumbling into it because of the kinds of places the group wanted to eat. I also got myself right back on the healthy track when I headed over to Baltimore and was faced with more mundane conference food, focusing my choices on lean proteins and veggies. I also kept up my running while I was traveling and have done loads of walking around, so I think it was a balanced approach to this little trip.

This lovely basket of apples was in the hotel gym in Baltimore. I grabbed one, but saved it for Sunday morning since it was already after 9 pm and I didn't want to violate my no-snacking-after-9 goal. :)

This lovely basket of apples was in the hotel gym in Baltimore. I grabbed one, but saved it for Sunday morning since it was already after 9 pm and I didn’t want to violate my no-snacking-after-9 goal. 🙂

I also kept to my newly established goals for Desiree’s “Stay Away from Tricks and Treats Challenge” – ie drinking 64 oz of water a day and no snacking after 9 pm (although the latter is largely because I’m so tired from early mornings that I’m going to bed at 9!). I’m also planning on weighing in on Tuesday morning, in keeping with my October goal of resuming regular weigh ins. I’m not going to worry too much (I hope) about what that number is, because the next week is about optimally fueling for my race next weekend. I’m planning on resuming tracking with the regular Weight Watchers plan after the race and am definitely feeling ready for getting back on plan.

Workouts

Monday A little yoga to stretch things out (planning on lots of this next week!)

Tuesday An easy 3 mile run in 37 minutes. It’s been a while since I did a run this short and I had to think about what route around my neighborhood would get me to 3 miles without going too far over! I’ve got my 4+ mile routes down, but it’s been quite a while since I did three.

Wednesday “Rest” day but ended up with over 10,000 steps thanks to lots of walking around airports and downtown Philadelphia.

Thursday This was supposed to be a 4 mile easy run, which didn’t happen because I ate lunch with a friend instead during my workout time. I got over 8,000 steps that day (in heels) so I think it was a worthwhile cross-training day (heels count as a workout in my opinion). 🙂

Friday 6.15 miles, split 4.9/1.25ish between an early morning run in Philadelphia to the Rocky steps and a mid-afternoon run along the waterfront in Baltimore. (Training plan called for 3 miles or cross training; did Saturday’s 6 mile run instead)

You guys know I'm a sucker for a little bridge on a run. :)

You guys know I’m a sucker for a little bridge on a run. 🙂

Saturday Four miles on the treadmill Saturday evening in the hotel (originally Thursday’s workout) – I confess that this run would never have gotten done if I hadn’t already started this blog post and felt like I had to finish the workout because I didn’t want to have come back and change this to make an excuse for skipping the workout. Thanks for the accountability, my virtual cheering squad. 🙂

Like oh so many runs, I didn't want to start it but was really glad I'd done it by the time it was over.

Like oh so many runs, I didn’t want to start it but was really glad I’d done it by the time it was over.

Sunday Rest day (complete with yet another insanely early start and lots of airport walking)

This week is full of little runs to keep things moving without stressing my legs too much. I’m also busy looking back at my recaps of the Princess Half Marathon and thinking about what things I need to pack for that trip and carry on that run. It’s hard to believe that a week from today I’ll be out running my second half marathon! Fingers crossed I’m not running it in the rain! I hope you guys all had a great weekend!

 

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: On the road again! Or in the air anyway!

  1. Kristin says:

    Nice work!! You rock!! So busy and still get some awesome running in!! Way to go!! Love how motivated you are!! Safe travels!!! xoxoxo

    • The running is truthfully a nice respite from the crowds. As an introvert, big work meetings like this can be really draining and the time spent with just me and my feet pounding the pavement is so refreshing!

      On Sun, Oct 12, 2014 at 7:01 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Heels definitely count as a workout in my book! 🙂 Way to go staying on track even while traveling for business; that is great! I hope you enjoy this relatively relaxed week in regards to running. I can’t wait to read about your half! You have trained so hard! I will keep my fingers crossed for no rain. Having run much of my half in rain yesterday, I wouldn’t recommend it. 🙂 It wasn’t awful and kept the temperatures low, but I couldn’t not warm up for the life of me afterwards. Have a great Monday!

    • I’m definitely packing sweatpants for the trip home! I’m always cold after long runs and I’m sure that’ll be amplified if it is raining! Keep your fingers crossed that it stays dry!

      On Mon, Oct 13, 2014 at 1:10 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

