A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

October goals

on October 7, 2014

This fall is seriously flying by! Before we know it, Thanksgiving will be here! I even got my first Black Friday email ad this week, which seems crazy! Do you do Black Friday shopping? It’s a tradition in my family, for the people watching and decorations more than any actual shopping. My husband is sort of grateful to have Oliver as an excuse to avoid joining us super early on Friday morning. πŸ™‚

Looking back at my September goals, I am so glad that my only real goal for the month was to be kind to myself. I came back that idea again and again all month. Really, that should be a goal every day and I hope I can keep that as a constant goal in my life. It was certainly helpful for me dealing with all of the stress of this last month.

For October, I have a few more concrete goals. I’ll have a separate set of goals coming Saturday for my half marathon, as I’m now close enough to the date to start thinking about what I want that race to look like. Otherwise for this month, I want to:

– Get to the Des Moines Half Marathon starting line injury free! I broke my toe less than a week before the Princess Half Marathon, which was definitely not ideal. I’d like to avoid that kind of complication this time around. πŸ™‚ I had Oliver carry my (empty) suitcase around for me yesterday as I was packing for this week’s trip, just in case.

 

Of course, I whacked myself in the face with a tree branch this morning while I was out running in the dark. Thank goodness no marks were left behind!

Of course, I whacked myself in the face with a tree branch this morning while I was out running in the dark. Thank goodness no marks were left behind!

– Get a minimum of 6,000 steps a day (not an AVERAGE): Looking at my step counts outside of running back in the Where Have all the Steps Gone post was really eye opening for me. For this month, I’m setting my target at 6,000, which is relatively low but I do have to taper and recover from my half marathon. In November, I’ll be pushing that number up.

– I’ve selected two goals forΒ the Stay Away from Tricks and Treats October challenge (Thanks Desiree!): Drinking 64 oz of water a day and cutting out snacking after 9 pm. I’ve gotten in the bad habit of drinking a lot of coffee and diet soda and not so much water. Not healthy in general and definitely not a good idea with a half marathon coming up, so I’m going to push those numbers up! I’ve always struggled with late night snacking, so this will be yet another attempt at reining that in. I know it is just a habit I need to break. Here’s hoping the ten thousandth (I exaggerate slightly) time is a charm. πŸ™‚

– I’m also going to weigh in once a week. I’m a big believer in getting on the scale to hold yourself accountable and yet I haven’t been practicing what I preach lately. I can’t tell you the last time I stepped on the scale, but the pants I’m wearing today are definitely more snug than they used to be. This month, I’m getting back on the scale. Next month, I’m probably going back to normal point counting with Weight Watchers but for now, with the half marathon coming, I’m going to put that part of the goal off. Just starting with these baby steps is moving in the right direction.

– My last goal of the month, and the one I’m possibly most excited about, is reading a non-science related book. I’ve read so many scientific articles in the last month that my head is spinning and ready for a little pleasure reading again. It’s such a huge escape and stress relief for me and yet has been missing these last few weeks. I’ve got two Gillian Flynn books to read while I’m traveling this week to get me started along this goal. Thank goodness for the Omaha Public Library. πŸ™‚

What are your goals for the month?

 

9 responses to “October goals

  1. 29stepstome says:

    We all should have “be kind to myself” as our number one goal, thanks for the reminder!

  2. Kristin says:

    WOW, seriously incredible goals!!I love them and I KNOW you’ll accomplish them all!! I love the idea of being kind to yourself!! That’s such a great goal to meet every single month!! Way to be awesome!! XOXO!!

  3. Great goals! I think being kind to yourself on a daily basis is so important, but so easy to forget. I need to be more aware of that as well!

    Sending good vibes your way that you get to the half marathon start line AND finish line completely injury free!

  4. […] a race starts well before the race. In addition to the 64 ounces of water I’d set as an overall daily goal this month, I’ll drink an extra bottle of water with Nunn Friday in addition to adding Nunn to all of my […]

  5. […] keeping with my goal of resuming regular weigh ins this month, I made myself step back on the scale Tuesday […]

  6. […] too far. Thankfully, today is the first Monday of a new month, so it is a good time to reflect on last month’s goals and set some new ones. Today is also the first day of my Rebel Challenge training program, so […]

Leave a Reply

