A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A perfectly chilly, fall Ultimate Coffee Date!

on October 4, 2014

A good indicator that fall has arrived in Nebraska:

I've got to figure how to relocate all of these!

I’ve got to figure how to relocate all of these!

All of our outdoor plants have come inside thanks to the risk of freezing. My husband is always in charge of bringing them in and I’m in charge of relocating, which is always made extra interesting because he brings in plants that really aren’t meant to overwinter. I’d just leave some of these things to freeze and replace them next year (like that spindly herb) but he wants to save them all. πŸ™‚

Regardless, that means it’s nice and crisp and cool outside this morning, making it a perfect day for another Coffee Date. Thanks to Jill, Nikki and Lynda for hosting as always. This morning I’ve got Cinnamon Roll flavored Dunkin Donuts in my favorite Dr Who mug while I wait for O to wake up for our breakfast date. My husband has had a couple of late work nights this week and could really use the chance to sleep in.

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

If we were having coffee this morning . . .

– I’d tell you that the best possible gift anniversary gift I could have given my husband for our 5th wedding anniversary (yesterday) was apparently forgetting said anniversary. Yep, I totally got it wrong. In my head, it is Sunday. I woke up yesterday morning, came out to the kitchen to see flowers and a beautiful wooden pedestal bowl on the dining table, along with a stack of cards.

And of course earrings - I always get a selection of new dangly earrings from Target. :)

And of course earrings – I always get a selection of new dangly earrings from Target. πŸ™‚

You’d think that would be enough to clue me in to the fact that it was our anniversary, but no, it didn’t. I thought they’d gotten me gifts to say congratulations for finishing my big work project (which is a significant professional milestone for me). So I pick up the cards and start opening them. I start with Oliver’s naturally, but they were absolutely no help (although very very cute):

Yep, a birthday card and a "congratulations on your engagement card" because they had rainbows and butterflies and he knows I like those.

Yep, a birthday card and a “congratulations on your engagement card” because they had rainbows and butterflies and he knows I like those.

I finally get to my husband’s anniversary card and the other shoe drops and I realize I have seriously screwed up. I could have gotten away with it, because he doesn’t expect a gift or card and hadn’t been awake to see my confusion, but I figured he deserved the gift of being able to tell people all day that the first person in our marriage to forget a big anniversary was ME and not HIM. He has gotten quite a kick out of it so far. πŸ™‚ It’s easy to forget when it feels like I’ve been with this wonderful man forever, in the best possible sense.

– Speaking of that wonderful man, I’d tell you that I was doing a television interview today over Skype from his office. If you happen to catch me on the news, you should know what the room looks like out of the camera view:

Yikes!

Yikes!

I dearly hope none of that shows under or around me. We’ve done test shots and can’t see anything, so fingers crossed!

– I’d ask you what books you’re reading, because one of my goals for the month is to read a non-science,Β  non-parenting, non-work related book. It’s been over a month and that’s really unlike me! I have Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places to take with me on the plane next week, but am definitely open to other suggestions.

I found Gone Girl fascinating and disturbing, so we'll see how this one turns out.

I found Gone Girl fascinating and disturbing, so we’ll see how this one turns out.

– I’d tell you that I feel guilty about my running schedule getting screwed up this week. This is the first week in the entire training plan where I’m running the risk of missing a run (as opposed to missing a couple of cross training sessions, which has happened). I’m reminding myself that missing a run in week 11 of 13 is not the end of the world, because at this point I’ve put most of the work in. I made the conscious choice to focus on my family this weekend because I’m traveling so much in October and worked so much in September. That means I’m hanging here at home waiting for O to wake up to go on our date and let my husband sleep in (killing two birds with one stone in doing nice things for both!) rather than going out to run this morning and risking missing O’s wake up time. That means putting my run off until the evening, which always seriously increases the odds it’ll get skipped all together. I promise myself and all of you right here and now that I will run at least the 8 miler on the schedule at some point this weekend. And forgive myself for having a week without all of the boxes checked. πŸ™‚

Speaking of which, the world’s cutest breakfast date just padded in here in Superman jammies so I’m off for snuggles and oatmeal at Village Inn. I hope you all have a great day and get to have a coffee date with someone you love this weekend!

 

 

7 responses to “A perfectly chilly, fall Ultimate Coffee Date!

  1. What a sweet anniversary gift from your husband! I think he understands; you have had quite a busy few weeks with the big work project! I love the cards from O! He knows what his Mama loves. What a sweet boy! I hope the interview went well, too. I’ve added Gone Girl to my reading list. I kind of know the plot already, but the movie has received such great reviews and I’m kind of a stickler for reading the books first before I see a movie (although the first HP book is the exception to that rule, def. saw the movie first quite reluctantly and then got hooked and read the books). You have been doing a wonderful job with your training; try not to beat yourself up too much about postponing a run or missing it if it comes to that. A date with O so your husband can sleep in sounds like a perfect Saturday morning! You’ve definitely put in the work for your training, so whether or not you got the run in today, you’ve totally got your half! πŸ™‚

  2. Kristin says:

    Awww!!! Happy Anniversary to you guys!! Sooo sweet!! What a beautiful story!! Just the cutest!! Happy Monday! Have a marvelous week!! XOXO!!

  3. […] its head Friday afternoon. The other thing that threw Friday off was the realization that I’d forgotten my 5 year wedding anniversary and I really needed to come up with a way to make that up to my husband! I didn’t do so great […]

  4. Happy Anniversary!!! He is so sweet for getting you those gifts and cards of course :0) I am glad he is laughing at forgetting y’all’s anniversary…stuff like that just happens sometimes!

Leave a Reply

