A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Deep breath before a big family weekend

on October 3, 2014

This is the only weekend this month where I’m not traveling or on call, so we’re stuffing with loads of family goodness. This means a trip to the pumpkin farm, a couple of mommy-Oliver breakfast dates, The Cat in the Hat at the Children’s theater and date night to celebrate our 5 year anniversary on Sunday. Whew! I’ll hopefully soak up every second because it’s going to be a busy month, but at least a more fun and less stressful busy than September!

Wish me luck getting through this - O loves the Children's Theater, but it can be grating on adult nerves!

Wish me luck getting through this – O loves the Children’s Theater, but it can be grating on adult nerves!

Last weekend, the Another Mother Runner team took on Ragnar and as much as I enjoyed following along with photos on Facebook, it’s been even better to get read about the experience now that they’re back. Here’s a recap from everyone on the Mother Runner team, plus pieces of blog-friend Laura’s experience here. I’m so glad it was a great experience for you Laura and you found it so motivating and inspiring and fun!!!

This is the article that prompted my post yesterday about finding something to fill in the space. I confess that while I love the facilities at Lifetime as a gym, sometimes their articles and advice are a little too follow-the-trend and imbalanced for me. They just don’t seem to fit the real world or practicality very well. That being said, I really found myself agreeing with a lot of things in this article. They’re right – losing 100 pounds does seem to put you in a different place in a lot of ways. Clearly there were bigger issues at play if you got to the point where you had 100 pounds to lose, so it’s different in some (not all) ways than losing 10 or 20 pounds. (By no means is losing 10 or 20 pounds easy, of course, as I know all too well now that I’m hanging out about 10 pounds over my lowest point.) I particularly liked the advice, which I hadn’t really considered before, about surrounding yourself with people that you love and trust to help you learn how to see yourself in a new way and keep a healthy perspective on it all.

Helping O set out all of our pumpkins was a nice step in the "being kind" and "finding balance" direction last weekend.

Helping O set out all of our pumpkins was a nice step in the “being kind” and “finding balance” direction last weekend.

Speaking of balance and practicality, coming off of a month where I was constantly reminding myself of my goal to be kind I really appreciate this post from MissZippy on Outhealthing Health. We can so easily get caught in extremes of “healthy” behaviors just like we can with unhealthy behaviors and just like the unhealthy behaviors, these really aren’t “healthy” or sustainable. We’ve got to try to find a balance and I’ve tried to be honest here about the struggles I’ve had figuring that out. I’m constantly working to find a way to keep food and activity in healthy places in life, without letting them overtake it, and being kind to myself in terms of rest and avoiding guilt or self-flagellation over “bad” food choices. It’s hard to mentally get everything in place and in balance, but you can’t let any one thing take over, even if that one thing is a “healthy” thing.

I hope you guys have a great weekend! I’ll be immersed in snuggles and family time and looking forward to (almost) every moment of it (fingers crossed that Cat in the Hat isn’t too annoying!).

9 responses to “Friday Favorites: Deep breath before a big family weekend

  1. Kristin says:

    Yaaay!! Have a wonderful, FABULOUS weekend!! Great photos and so happy that you’re feeling great!! Happy Friday!! XOXO!

  2. Hope you have a great weekend!!! Looks like it will be awesome!

  3. Have a wonderful family weekend!! A pumpkin farm trip sounds like a perfect way to spend a weekend afternoon!

  4. misszippy1 says:

    Thank you so much for including me in your post (sorry so late in saying this!)

Leave a Reply

