A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Stocking a healthy freezer

on September 29, 2014

We had a minor  catastrophe over the weekend:

Ugh. Lots of melting! What a mess!

Ugh. Lots of melting! What a mess!

I didn’t close our freezer very well and the door popped back open. It was almost 24 hours later when I noticed it and by that point, lots of melting had occurred. So much food lost! It’s frustrating to say the least. It broke Darrell’s little heart to throw out the jambalaya I’d frozen for him to have while I’m traveling next month. (Nothing like the time this happened when this freezer was FULL of pumped breast milk – I literally cried)

On the bright side, I’ll get a nice deep clean in on the freezer (although I promise it wasn’t that messy until the big thaw) and we’ll start gradually rebuilding our freezer stash of goodies. The freezer can be a great place to stock on healthy options that make it easier to get healthy meals on the table.

I’ll be keeping an eye on sales in the grocery store to restock on some of our favorites over the next month or so. Some things I’ll be watching for:

– Shrimp and individually frozen tilapia filets thaw quickly and make a quick, easy meal to grab from the freezer when I don’t have anything else ready.

– Frozen veggies can be a really budget friendly way to get more veggies into your diet. Frozen produce can be as nutrient rich or more so that fresh produce, as it’s typically frozen very shortly after it has been harvested. The veggies are great to have on hand for side dishes or snacks (love the little individual servings of edamame!). I’ll also freeze any veggies we get from the CSA that I can’t use quickly enough.

Frozen fruits & veggies take up a ton of space in our freezer but it's worth it!

Frozen fruits & veggies take up a ton of space in our freezer but it’s worth it!

– I also keep frozen fruit on hand for oatmeal in the morning – far quicker and usually cheaper than fresh berries. Frozen fruit is also handy for smoothies. If you have any bananas that are getting too ripe, be sure to toss them in the freezer rather than throwing them out. They’re great for smoothies or baking!

– If a lean protein that we like, such as pork loin or chicken or ground turkey, goes on sale, having extra freezer space let’s us stock up (that of course requires me to remember that it’s out there! and remember to thaw it!).

– The freezer can also be a great place to keep flavor boosters, like the frozen garlic/ginger/herb cubes I love so much. I also keep nuts and sesame seeds in there to keep them fresh longer.

As you can see, I gather a big stock of these when they go on sale.

As you can see, I gather a big stock of these when they go on sale.

Of course, the occasional ice cream cup or bar might find its way in there too. 🙂 I love the Weight Watchers ice cream bars a la the Snickers ice cream bars.

Obviously I won’t be rebuilding all of this stash at once for budget reasons, but I’ll be checking out the freezer section any time I pass through the store to pick up a couple of things at a time. A healthy freezer definitely makes it easier to stay on track during the week!

7 responses to “Stocking a healthy freezer

  1. Kristin says:

    Ohhh nooo, so sorry to hear about this!! Oops!! Well, have a wonderful week!! Have lots of fun!! XOXO!!

  2. Aw man that stinks! And that reminds me that we really need to invest in a deep freezer because my freezer is usually stuffed to the max as well and I can easily see this happening to me too!

    • This is definitely less of an issue with a chest freezer because gravity works in your favor. Our problem is that it sits in our garage, so it’s easy to miss the fact that the door didn’t close. 😛

  3. Oh no!! That would definitely not be a fun surprise to deal with…at least you’re looking on the bright side though! :0)

    I can’t imagine the mess of thawed pumped breast milk…I would probably cry too!

  4. […] never happened because we spent lots of extra post bath time cuddling, plus time cleaning out the freezer disaster since today is garbage […]

Leave a Reply

