A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Balance

on September 25, 2014

The work dinner I attended Tuesday night was all about work-life balance and it was a very interesting time for me to talk about that particular topic given how busy I’ve been lately! I have to say that I’ve done a pretty good job finding moments of balance in the last week.

– I took time to make cookies with Oliver on Saturday, which was totally worth it (even though we’ll end up throwing away the cookies because O is the only one of us who is eating them and some of those got WAY too big for him!).

Anybody have a good sugar cookie recipe for cutting shapes?

Anybody have a good sugar cookie recipe for cutting shapes?

– We also took some time to make ghosts out of paper plates and toilet paper. 🙂

O is very excited about Halloween this year!

O is very excited about Halloween this year!

– While Darrell took Oliver to the zoo for a few hours so I could work Sunday, I made a quick pit stop at Trader Joe’s for a couple of things to cheer me up:

Aren't these gorgeous? I'm a sucker for pumpkins these!

Aren’t these gorgeous? I’m a sucker for pumpkins these!

I love to always have fresh cut flowers in the house!

I love to always have fresh cut flowers in the house!

– I treated myself to lunch outside when I took a break during my work on Sunday.

Sitting on my beloved deck with my lovely lemon tree. As quick as fall arrives here, I'll have to move my lemon tree inside in a few week so I'm glad I enjoyed one of my last weekend days outside with it.

Sitting on my beloved deck with my lovely lemon tree. As quick as fall arrives here, I’ll have to move my lemon tree inside in a few week so I’m glad I enjoyed one of my last weekend days outside with it.

– In a weird bit of “balance” I listened to Alton Brown talk about holiday cooking and particularly cookies while I was running last night. It was so weird but so right to listen to him talk through cooking all of those goodies while I was pounding out the miles late Wednesday night. 🙂

Newly discovered podcast I've been binge-listening to

Newly discovered podcast I’ve been binge-listening to

These little moments are definitely helping during weeks like this and like I told the students Tuesday night, it doesn’t take a lot to feel like you’re keeping things in balance. Sometimes just little moments you steal for yourself (like an hour listening to a fellow food geek talk about cooking Yorkshire pudding) are enough to keep you from feeling like you’re going too far off the rails. 🙂

How do you keep things in balance?

4 responses to “Balance

  1. Great job finding a bit of peace during your crazy, chaotic week!

  2. Yay for pumpkin season!

    I don’t listen to podcasts when I run, but I often will watch food network when I’m on the treadmill! There is something motivating about watching people make yummy food while burning calories haha!

    • My husband doesn’t understand it all but it is sort of fun to think about food while running. 🙂 I can’t wait for holiday cooking season to arrive!

      On Thu, Sep 25, 2014 at 9:53 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

