A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Where have all of the steps gone?

on September 22, 2014

I was so relieved when the 10,000 step a day challenge was over earlier this month because it meant no more pacing around the house trying to get to that magic number by the end of the day. I was so relieved to just be done at the end of the day I didn’t worry about step count at all for a couple of weeks, despite in general being a big fan of pedometers (see more about it here). That definitely showed in my weekly progress report from FitBit in my first week post challenge:

I was averaging over 12,000 steps a day during the 10K a day challenge. Big change!

I was averaging over 12,000 steps a day during the 10K a day challenge. Big change!

Even more eye opening were the notes I jotted down during my “a day in the life” experiment a couple of weeks ago.

My step count post run: 12736

At lunch: 14692

When I got home: 16535

When I went to bed: 17449

That means I got less than 5000 steps for the day after my run. That’s not horrible by any stretch of the imagination, and definitely an improvement from the good old days. I can remember a day pre-Oliver when I got less than a thousand steps in an entire day, thanks to a lazy Sunday spent hanging out in the basement watching TV.

There have been a couple of really interesting articles on Runner’s World this summer discussing the recent studies about the dangers of sitting, even for athletes (check them out here and here). In a nutshell, running 7 hours that Tuesday morning does not really protect me from the dangers for sitting for hours at a time in my office (or on my couch for the rest of the day on the weekend). The good news is that it doesn’t take much movement, just some, to break things up during the day. I may try setting an alarm on my phone to go off every hour or so to prompt me to take a little walk around the floor. It doesn’t take much, but sometimes a little bit is all that it takes.

After yesterday’s 6 miler, today is a rest day on the training schedule but I’m going to make a goal to get up at least once an hour to walk around my building. I’ll let you know how it goes! I can do anything for a single day, right? šŸ™‚

 

7 responses to “Where have all of the steps gone?

  1. Running 7 MILES not 7 hours! After running 7 hours I don’t think I’d be ABLE to take another step!

  2. Awesome job getting in all those steps!

    It’s really scary to think that an hour or more of activity per day cannot undo the damage from sitting all day long. I really need to make a conscious effort to get up more throughout the day!

  3. […] They have built in badges and rewards within the program to motivate you along, in addition to earning more of the story. I especially want the “keep moving” badge, in keeping with my desire to get more steps more often during the day. […]

  4. […] of 6,000 steps a day (not an AVERAGE): Looking at my step counts outside of running back in the Where Have all the Steps Gone post was really eye opening for me. For this month, I’m setting my target at 6,000, which is […]

  5. […] I like that it keeps me from being an active coach potato, or at least keeps me honest about that. If I run 3 miles in the morning, but get only a couple of hundred steps for the rest of the day, I’m sitting too much (see more here at Where have all of the steps gone). […]

Leave a Reply

