A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Where is September going?!?

on September 19, 2014

I cannot grasp the fact that September is halfway over. Just a blink ago it was August, wasn’t it?ย  Whew.

I don’t think there’s really a theme to this week’s favorites, other than they are all things that made me happy and really what more do I need than that?

April over at RuntheGreatWideSomewhere wrote this week about breaking through that wall of fear. I’ve definitely let fear of failure keep me from trying so many things, from trying to lose weight, to trying to run, to trying run faster and even things at work. As hard I’m working right now, I actually had kind of a deep breath moment today when I realized that I was past the point of no return – I was not going to chicken out and back off from finishing the project. It was out there, many people know about it so there’s no turning back! That doesn’t really make it less terrifying, but at least it’s a little liberating. I will not be backing away from this scary thing. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the Nike logo in April’s post: Just Do It Even if You Suck. (Another recent post of April’s I loved was running in makeup – check it out! I can personally vouch for the Urban Decay All Nighter spray she mentions!)

I definitely got a much needed laugh out of 5 and a half reasons why coming in last is okay over at TooFattoRun. I especially like the first point – someone has to be last. It’s an unavoidable fact. It’s not the end of the world if it is you (heck, at RunDisney it’s a pretty awesome little celebration if it is you) and you know what? You still lapped everyone on the couch who isn’t out there trying.

Knowing I’m a little over a week away from the tapering part of my training plan had me flagging Janae’s post on the commandments for tapering.ย  Man does that pizza look good! Her posts always make me hungry from all of the food pics. Aside from the practical tips about fiber and decreasing distance, I also liked the tip about Hulu plus (or in my case, Amazon’s free trial of the Kindle lending library) as a distraction. The bit about avoiding stress also had me thinking – thank goodness this work deadline coincides with the peak of marathon training and wasn’t coming during tapering! I’d probably go a little nuts if I didn’t have the running outlet!

Speaking of running, I am feeling everyone of my 36 (am I the only one who has to do the math to figure out how old she is) years at the moment. Remember yesterday how I talked about how great I was feeling with this training plan? Yeah, that was before I ran 3 days in a row for the first time in ages. Even though it was only 4 miles – 3 miles -4 miles, I was stiff and sore by Thursday night. Me and the foam roller (bad grammar I know!) will be spending quality time together today to get things back to normal by tomorrow’s 10 mile run.

My little "recovery corner"

My little “recovery corner”

Last but not least, be sure to send all your virtual good vibes to California for the Ragnar Relay in Napa Valley. Blog-friend Laura is running her first relay with the Another Mother Runner crew this weekend and I’m so excited for her. The pics are gorgeous so far and I’m a little jealous of her grand adventure!ย  This post full of advice from last year’s AMR Ragnar team had me smiling and goose bumpy for them. Safe and happy runny to you badass mother runners ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you all have a great weekend and embrace the best of what fall has to offer!

I'm contemplating a spurt of craftiness to make this pillow instead of paying the obscene amount $$ Pottery Barn wants for it. I'll keep you posted!

I’m contemplating a spurt of craftiness to make this pillow instead of paying the obscene amount $$ Pottery Barn wants for it. I’ll keep you posted!

 

 

8 responses to “Friday Favorites: Where is September going?!?

  1. Kristin says:

    Yaaay!! Almost taper time!! Definitely sit back, relax, and enjoy and great job on your 3 runs in a row!! That’s awesome! Wishing you a fabulous 10 miler tomorrow!! XOXO!! Also, can’t believe it’s almost October!! Wow, time goes by so quickly!

  2. d20girl says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! Taper-time is always crazy, I tend to use it to binge on Netflix shows! Best of luck on your race!!!

  3. Ever since I worked the Ragnar trail event in Colorado, I have been dying to do a Ragnar race! I just need to figure out when and where first!

  4. Thanks so much for the good vibes! I have so much blog reading to catch up on and blog writing! I am having major Ragnar withdrawal and I can’t wait to do another one! ๐Ÿ™‚ We could feel all of the good vibes from the tribe, so thank you again so much! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you are having a great week!

Leave a Reply

