A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Training plan update! Only a month left!

on September 18, 2014
I looked at the training plan yesterday and realized I only have a few weeks left! My longest run of the plan is next week and then it’s on to taper town. Holy cow! I have to say that I feel really strong and confident in my running, in a way I rarely have before and regardless of the outcome of my half marathon next month, that is a HUGE WIN!
Yesterday was the only Wednesday run on the whole training plan! Felt weird to run on a different day, but I loved seeing my neighbor's pumpkins :)

Yesterday was the only Wednesday run on the whole training plan! Felt weird to run on a different day, but I loved seeing my neighbor’s pumpkins πŸ™‚

Some random thoughts on the plan so far:
– You remember how much I dreaded those long Tuesday morning runs? And how I said at the end of my last training plan that “5 miles was far too long to run on a weekday”? Yeah, it turns out I was wrong about that. I was actually a little disappointed Tuesday that I “only” had 4 miles to run. Yes, I’ve lost my mind. πŸ™‚
– Embracing the “easy” run has taken SO much stress out of running for me and made it really fun, which is really helping me to stick with the training plan. The science geek in me needed to look into the science of the benefits of easy running like I did back in this post and once I grasped that there was a real purpose for easy runs, I’ve accepted them completely!
– I was worried that the stress of my work project coming at the same time as my training plan peaked would be a bad thing, but actually having those long runs is doing so much for stress level and sanity right now. If I’d run Monday morning, I probably wouldn’t haven’t been so crazy frazzled I banged myself with the door! (Feeling better by the way, just a little sore to the touch now)
– It turns out, there was no reason to be scared of speed work and hill work after all! (Well, other than doing it in the suburbs and tweaking my piriformis – back to normal now!) I actually particularly like the hill work because it’s so straight forward. FindΒ a hill, run up it. Repeat. Fantastic πŸ™‚
– It is amazing how much more fit I am this time around. When we were looking at the training plan yesterday, a co-worker was amazed that it meant I worked out almost every day. That has become so much a part of my routine now that I sort of forgot how big of a change that was from where I was before! Doing the workouts on the day they are assigned definitely helps me, in terms of establishing the routine and not really thinking about “what workout to do today”. She was also amazed that I don’t get sore unless I get hurt or something weird happens like sore calves from wearing those cute but heeled booties on Monday (true story). Amazing changes!
In terms of the actual 13.FUN virtual race community for Another Mother Runner, it has been worth every penny and feels like the birthday gift that keeps on giving. Even though I am more of a Strava message board lurker than actually participating much in the conversations or posting my runs, I love getting emails in my in box throughout the day with questions or comments on runs and knowing there are other mother runners out there just like me, working on getting those runs in. I will actually be using the boards today because I know Coach Christine monitors them and I want some input on shuffling my run schedule next week so the long run can be on Friday. It’s so cool to have access to input from other runners and a running coach all in one place. πŸ™‚ I’ve also really liked the webinars, which have been crazy informative (including watching a sports medicine doc demonstrate foot exercises Monday night!) and a great place to ask questions.
That blur is the hummingbird that hangs out in my neighborhood. He loves to visit our lemon tree but O keeps missing him! I know he's going to be fascinated once he finally gets to catch him in action.

That blur is the hummingbird that hangs out in my neighborhood. He loves to visit our lemon tree but O keeps missing him! I know he’s going to be fascinated once he finally gets to catch him in action.

All in all, this has been a really good training cycle and coming into the home stretch, I feel strong and happy. What more can a girl ask?
4 responses to “Training plan update! Only a month left!

  1. That is awesome that you feel strong and happy in this training cycle! It’s amazing how getting past one half helps you feel infinitely more prepared for the second one! Keep up the great work Jess!!

    • I think that definitely plays into it. I know without a doubt I can run 13.1 miles because I’ve done it before! What’s really amazing is that it doesn’t feel like “been there, done that”. I’m looking forward to this one just as much as the last one. πŸ™‚

      On Thu, Sep 18, 2014 at 2:14 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. […] in 2014, I used an Another Mother Runner plan that incorporated more miles (more on that one here) and then transitioned into an easy plan for the back to back training for the Rebel Challenge. For […]

Leave a Reply

