A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Stress might be literally trying to kill me :)

on September 16, 2014

Last post about stress this week, I promise, because I’m feeling productive and hopefully that’ll dampen the stress a bit over theย  next few days. I just had a slightly painful laugh at myself at yesterday morning that made me think that stress really is dangerous.

The perpetrator: My car door (or maybe I'm the real perpetrator?)

The perpetrator: My car door (or maybe I’m the real perpetrator?)

I told you guys I woke up early Sunday morning and really, that’s probably going to happen until this project is done. I tend to wake up at 4 am just enough for my brain to start thinking about all of the things I need to do. It can be really hard to get back to sleep, so I end up starting the day tired. As a result of that tiredness and my brain being in a thousand places other than concentrating on what I’m doing in the moment, I opened my car door yesterday morning and SLAMMED it into my forehead! OUCH!!! It shook the car, which worried O. I should get some kind of super human mommy award for not saying any four letter words in that moment. I was definitely stunned and had a nauseous headache for the rest of the morning. At least there doesn’t appear to be any bruising and no other ill effects.

I will say that tired me and car doors don’t mix well historically. Our first Thanksgiving with O, when he was a four month old who hadn’t figured out how to sleep yet, I did exactly the same thing when we were stopped at a gas station outside of Kansas City. We were exhausted and stressed from dealing with a crying baby all night and for 5 hours in the car and were still 3 hours from home. I did the same thing I did yesterday, opened the door into my face, only that time I ended up splitting open my eyebrow! I had to go to the ER once I got home to get glued back together. Thankfully yesterday’s incident left no ill effects (so far – hopefully no bruising will show up over time!). I’m convinced that O’s kisses he bestowed because he was worried about me were magical and healing.

Other things I’ve noticed as a side effect of stress:

– I have the never ending urge to go for a run because I have all of this nervous energy.

– Part of the energy comes from nerves, and part of it comes from the copious amounts of coffee I’m drinking to make up for the 4 am wake ups!

Elixir of the gods

Elixir of the gods

– Naturally all of that coffee mixed with stress means lots of Zantac for the reflux. Ugh.

– I have the urge to eat everything in my lunch bag at 9 am. Once I suppress that urge and get started working, my appetite completely disappears (the only time that EVER happens to me) and I have to remind myself to eat when meal times roll around.

Thankfully this level of stress is short term. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know that I could survive it!

Have you ever injured yourself because of stress/distraction?

9 responses to “Stress might be literally trying to kill me :)

  1. Owie! Girl glad you are ok! I hope everything eases up for you soon!

  2. OUCH! I agree that you deserve an award for not saying any bad words at that moment too because even in just reading that, I cursed in my head feeling that pain for you! Hope you’re feeling better now!

  3. leannenalani says:

    That sounds incredibly painful! Hopefully no concussion. Stress just causes me to make bad choices in terms of food and exercise. And alcohol. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I had a prior job that drove me to lots of drinking. I didn’t realize how much I was drinking until that job was over and I noticed how much longer a bottle of wine or case of beer lasted in the apartment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. Kristin says:

    Ouch!!! So sorry to hear about your injury!! I’ve definitely injured myself due to stress/distraction. I tend to not get enough sleep, to drink lots of coffee in the morning, and that sometimes leads to accidents. XOXO!!! Hope you feel better!!

  5. […] If I’d run Monday morning, I probably wouldn’t haven’t been so crazy frazzled I banged myself with the door! (Feeling better by the way, just a little sore to the touch now) – It turns out, there was no […]

Leave a Reply

