A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Starting the week with gratitude . . .

on September 15, 2014

Sunday morning, I woke up at 5 am and couldn’t get back to sleep because thoughts of all the work I have to do in the next couple of weeks and that perpetual feeling of being behind was overwhelming me. I took Friday night and all day Saturday completely off to be with my family and every second of that was worthwhile, even if it did leave me feeling guilty for neglecting my work for 36 hours. However, at the end of the day, at the end of my life, it doesn’t matter if I’m successful with this project. It matters that I’m a good mom and a good wife and that I lived a life where I inspired others with my joie de vivre, my curiosity, and my enthusiasm. Those things are things 36 hours off help bolster and therefore totally worth it. πŸ™‚ However, as I start back to a week full of work that’s going to bleed over into my personal life, I thought I’d take a moment to take a deep breath and take note of all of the things that I am so grateful for amidst all the stress.

– I get to help this sweet little soul make his way in the world, who at this particular moment was picking out purple flowers for his Nana because those were her favorites (not sure how he knows that but he was certain). He was so sad when I told him that we couldn’t send her flowers from Target, but he did help me pick out something on the FTD website when we got home.

Choosing flowers for Nana

Choosing flowers for Nana

– My awesome husband, who takes over a lot of parenting-heavy-lifting during times I’m busy like this at work. I got to work for several hours Sunday afternoon thanks to a long nap by O and then playtime with Dad when he got up.

– Time to lounge in bed reading magazines while O napped on Saturday. It’s hard to choose when Runner’s World and Cooking Light show up simultaneously!

I sort of love a Cooking Light episode devoted to cheese - seems almost oxymoronic :)

I sort of love a Cooking Light episode devoted to cheese – seems almost oxymoronic πŸ™‚

– I’m grateful for long, easy runs in the morning. At this point, I can’t imagine life without that time to myself to let my mind wander.

I'm learning to appreciate the dark, early weekday runs in a weird way too.

I’m learning to appreciate the dark, early weekday runs in a weird way too.

– The weird peace I feel from getting everything set up for the week ahead of us, including lots of chopping of veggies for various meals this week. There’s something so soothing to me about the steady thunk of my knife on the cutting board as I get everything ready in the slow space of Sunday afternoon, instead of the frantic weeknight rush. It helps that I was listening to Alton Brown and William Shatner on the Alton Browncast, which was a delightfully surreal conversation as they made biscuits and gravy together. Seriously wonderfully weird and worth a listen!

Veggie prep for the week!

Veggie prep for the week!

– Fall is really and truly here in Nebraska, which means a lot of wonderful things like:

An afternoon spent making soup

An afternoon spent making soup

Gorgeous, shiny red, fresh apples

Gorgeous, shiny red, fresh apples

Turning on the fireplace in the evening

Turning on the fireplace in the evening

Even better, today our heated mattress pad should be arriving, which is an absolute necessity now that I have less padding to insulate me from the cold!

Even the stress of work right now is cause for gratitude, because I love my job. It’s a challenge, but a privilege and I wouldn’t want to do anything else. πŸ™‚

What are you grateful for this week?

6 responses to “Starting the week with gratitude . . .

  1. Aww sorry about the stress at work but looks like you had a really wonderful and relaxing weekend too. That fireplace sure does look cozy! I don’t have a fp but I’m very jealous of those who do! My mom and dad have one but it won’t get cold enough to use until like November or so!

    • It was a must on our house shopping list. There is just something so soothing about a fireplace! I sometimes miss the smell of a wood burning fireplace, but I really appreciate just being able to flip a switch with the gas logs. πŸ™‚

      On Mon, Sep 15, 2014 at 7:39 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I think this post is a wonderful way to start off the week! I love your fireplace it is so pretty!! Also, a heated mattress sounds really nice for winter time!

  3. Kristin says:

    Such a great post!! What’s better than enjoying life and being thankful for what you have??!!! Such a great Monday post!! You’re amazing!! What a fabulous list!! XOXO!!
    I’m thankful for my health this week!! If you got your health, you got it all!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful week!!

Leave a Reply

