A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Seriously dropping temps here!

on September 14, 2014

I need to re-learn how to dress for chilly temps. We went from sweltering to shivering in the blink of an eye! It was literally in the 30s when I headed out to run yesterday morning, I wore long sleeves and my new running skirt/capri combo which was perfect for the first 3-4 miles and had me feeling seriously overheated thereafter. I’ll have to relearn my layering skills!

I do like the new running skirt/capri combo though - especially the pockets on the legs!

I do like the new running skirt/capri combo though – especially the pockets on the legs!

Weekly Workouts

Monday The training plan called for a “fun” workout – what I really got done was only 20 minutes of dancing around my bedroom while I watched TV at night. That counts right? Wearing heels all day was exhausting and I couldn’t even muster the energy to head out to walk!

Tuesday 7 miles easy, at around 12:25 pace: I am learning to really appreciate these runs because the more often I run 6+ miles, the easier all of my long runs have seemed!

One of my neighbors already has these Halloween decorations out and they scared me to death coming across them in the dark Tuesday morning!

One of my neighbors already has these Halloween decorations out and they scared me to death coming across them in the dark Tuesday morning!

Wednesday Cross-training or rest on the schedule and I honestly just never got around to a workout!

Thursday Speed intervals, with 8 X 1 minute and 2 minute recovery between. I ended up covering 2.75 miles and all but the last speed interval was at 8:00 pace or better, which is pretty speedy for me. Other than tweaking my muscles on the left, this would have been a good workout!

Friday Easy run or cross training on the schedule and as I was still a little sore, I went with a nice twenty minute walk plus lots of stretching and foam rolling.

My recovery corner, with yoga mat and foam roller

My recovery corner, with yoga mat and foam roller

Saturday I woke up completely pain free, so I decided to tackle the 8 miles on the schedule. The training schedule called for 8 miles with “10 minutes strong finish” but I decided to just do 8 easy miles and see how I felt. If my pain ever got to 5 (on a 1-10 scale), I’d call it quits and walk back home.

Naturally I forgot my water bottle and had to loop back around to the house at about a mile. Sigh.

Naturally I forgot my water bottle and had to loop back around to the house at about a mile. Sigh.

Any time I headed up hill, I could feel the twinge in my left butt cheek but never more than a 3-4 in severity and nothing like Thursday morning, so I just kept it nice and easy (and walked the hills). When I got to the last half mile, I decided I felt good enough to “finish strong” by running all of the last half mile and it felt good to know I still had than in me and it didn’t make my leg hurt.

A truly gorgeous day, with bright blue sky stretching forever and the Monarch butterflies out in full force all around me!

A truly gorgeous day, with bright blue sky stretching forever and the Monarch butterflies out in full force all around me!

I made sure to stretch as soon as I got home (1:35 and change, so a little less than 12 minute miles, which surprised me since I felt like I was going so slow and walking a lot so as not to aggravate my muscles). We had a great afternoon, checking out new toys at Williams Sonoma:

Seriously one of my happy places! Along with a new paring knife, I got some new toys for decorating cookies. The holidays are coming!

Seriously one of my happy places! Along with a new paring knife, I got some new toys for decorating cookies. The holidays are coming!

Taking a nap with my guy:

Such a great napping partner :)

Such a great napping partner 🙂

And heading to the theater to watch a puppet show of the Very Hungry Caterpillar.

Gorgeous theater!

Gorgeous theater!

Whew!  I feel like I earned Sunday’s rest day. 🙂

I hope you guys all had a nice weekend!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Seriously dropping temps here!

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, great runs!! You’re running sooo hard!!! Way to go!! XOXO!!

  2. Awesome job this week! Those Halloween decorations would scare me half to death on my run too lol!

Leave a Reply

