A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Random thoughts and a recipe

on September 9, 2014

Random thoughts first:

Turns out, it;s over by steak sauce.

Turns out, it’s over by steak sauce.

We ran out of Worcestershire sauce last week and it is such a rare thing to have on the shopping list, it took me a surprisingly long time to figure out where it was! It seems to be one of those things we always have and yet never buy. Maybe it somehow replenishes itself in the cabinet?

Yesterday, I wore heels all day at work and wow are my glutes sore! I don’t normally wear heels and after a day in them, I was feeling it! Does that count as a workout?

It was a good thing I was wearing heels and a dress (for no good reason – just felt like dressing up). I ended up giving lots of TV, radio and newspaper interviews for something that came up unexpectedly at work. I hate watching myself on TV, but two of the stations told our media coordinator that they wanted me next time they needed to talk to someone at our institution, so that means I must have done fairly well. Despite the fact that I am 36 years old and professionally successful enough that I’m wanted to talk about breaking news, my mother’s question was still “were you dressed nicely?” Gotta love moms 🙂

We absolutely loved the ratatouille we made last week and it froze so well! It’s very simple to make as well, once you get past all of the chopping.

image

Saute 2 chopped onions in olive oil for 5 minutes. Add 4 cloves of garlic (as usual, I used the frozen cubes) and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute more. Stir in 2 large eggplant, chopped (I didn’t peel them) and 4-5 medium zucchini chopped (also not peeled). I tossed the bell pepper in at this point as well (3 chopped bell pepper – I used red, yellow and purple) although the recipe calls for them to be added much later. Add 3/4 cup of water, which doesn’t seem like much for such a large mass of veggies but trust me it works! Simmer for 10 minutes or so and then add 1 large can of tomatoes (28 oz) and a teaspoon of dried thyme. Stir, reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer for 15-20 minutes (or until you can get to it to turn it off, which is what happened in my house). Stir in the basil just before serving. The recipe calls for 1/2 cup of chopped fresh basil, but for expediency I used a few of the frozen squares. For something that sounds so incredibly simple, the dish had such great subtle flavors and was unexpectedly delicious. I ate it over polenta the first night and along as leftovers. It froze well and I’ve already had it for lunch a few times!

Ratatouille over polenta - I felt very European

Ratatouille over polenta – I felt very European

More random thoughts:

I apparently do not like the Clif energy gels. I finally got around trying the one I have as a free sample from somewhere. The texture was not appealing! I’m glad I didn’t try the one we got on the course at the Princess Half Marathon. That’s why I always carry fuel I know works for me in a race situation.

The texture was a lot thicker than I was expecting!

The texture was a lot thicker than I was expecting!

Thanks to a sale at the grocery store I picked up a couple of new flavors of Gu to try. I love salted caramel, but trying something new flav0r-wise is good sometimes. I’ll test them out on shorter runs so I’m not far from home if they throw me off!

Espresso love & Peanut butter to try out on easy long runs coming up this training cycle

Espresso love & Peanut butter to try out on easy long runs coming up this training cycle

Today we’ve got a new vegan chili recipe going in the slow cooker. I’ll be sure to update you guys if it is worth making again!

Any new recipes or random thoughts of your own to share? Anyone else consider a day in heels a workout?

8 responses to “Random thoughts and a recipe

  1. Wearing heels is totally a workout! :0) Those things aren’t easy to walk in!

    I love the PB Gu, but unfortunately all Gu’s give me GI stress. Honey Stinger gels are my fave!

    • I thought about picking up some honey stinger gels when I was perusing that part of the store. The Gu’s can be so texturally weird!

      On Tue, Sep 9, 2014 at 10:39 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Kristin says:

    Hey!!! Great thoughts!! I tried the Clif energy gel for the first time a few days ago and I’m not a huge fan, either!! Although I just tried the Clif shot bloks today and they’re yummy and they gave me a great amount of energy!!

  3. I love Worcestershire sauce, but I agree, it seems to last forever (and/or repopulate in my pantry on its own!) and then when I do need it, it’s impossible to find at the grocery store. Great job on your media interviews today! I know what you mean about watching yourself on camera, but it sounds like you did a terrific job! You’ll have to let me know about the PB and Coffee GU’s. I love the Salted Caramel, but those two sounds delicious, too! I thought I heard there was also a PB Chocolate GU, which sounds like a Reese’s to me. 🙂 I might give that one a try, too!

  4. leannenalani says:

    I avoid heels at all costs! Wedges are acceptable. Random thought of the day – Young children can be so random! I’ve been giving reading tests in elementary school at all grade levels and those younger kiddos say the darndest things. :p

Leave a Reply

