A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A new PR!

on September 7, 2014

Let me just start by saying that during our coffee date, I definitely would have been raving about yesterday’s 10 mile race. I will have a full recap tomorrow, but for now I’ll say that it was a gorgeous day and I accomplished everything I wanted with the run, including hitting my goal pace! Much better than my first race of the week. 🙂 I really like the 10 mile distance. I guess that means I need to add the Tower of Terror to my runDisney wish list!

Workouts

Monday Ran 3.14 miles at the Go Girl Run, in  30:38 – The training plan called for 3 miles or cross training, and I think I’d like to pick one additional run a week in the last month or so of training. I was originally going to run the 5K in the morning and then 3 more miles in the evening to get my 6 mile run done for the week (originally scheduled Tuesday) but I was in such a funk after that race I didn’t want to get back out to run again.

Tuesday A lovely, redemptive 6 miles in the morning (69 minutes, a nice easy pace) – I am so glad I went out for this run, instead of taking on a second run to get to 6 miles. It was good for my spirit to have a fun, easy run and remind myself why I like to run.

Easy runs at sunrise involve taking selfies of my shadow. :)

Easy runs at sunrise involve taking selfies of my shadow. 🙂

Wednesday A nice walk outside in the evening (47 minutes)

Thursday Hill work in the morning, with 8-10 minutes of warm up jogging out to the hill and then 6 1-minute intervals going up the hill, followed by a 8-10 minute jog home (34 minutes, 2.75 miles). I’m proud of myself for finally figuring out how to keep track of my number of repeats. I always lose track, but this time I grabbed a piece of mulch out of a neighboring yard every time I came down the hill after finishing an interval. It made it a lot easier to keep track! I promise I put the mulch back when I was done.

Noting my hill repeats on the sidewalk

Noting my hill repeats on the sidewalk

Friday 28 minutes (weird, I know, but that’s where it ended up) walking around campus for a mid-morning break. Most importantly, this was the last day of the 10,000 step a day challenge at the gym and I am so proud of myself for getting in 10K a day even after I realized last week that I was short on one day and therefore wouldn’t get the reward at the gym. The challenge is with myself, not for the prize and I’m glad I kept that in mind!

Saturday 10-12 miles on the training plan, which I got in by racing the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race here in town. I love a new distance, because it’s an automatic PR. After falling apart a bit mentally with the 5K on Monday, my biggest goal was to finish this feeling like I stuck to my racing plan the whole time and finished strong and I’m happy to say that I did! Even better, I finished in 1:46:48, which is less than my 10:45 target pace (my splits were remarkably consistent!), a new PR for the 10K portion on the Garmin (1:05 and change) and a big improvement in my predicted half marathon time on the McMillan running calculator, so I’ll potentially bump up a corral with runDisney (based on my prior 10K, I was predicted to finish in 2:31 – this 10 mile race predicts a 2:23 half marathon!). All good things and I’ll share more tomorrow!

Sunday Today is going to be my first real rest day in a month (thanks to the need to get in 10K steps a day) and I am so looking forward to it! Rest, yoga, foam rolling all on deck for today!

Meal plans for the week This week, I’m planning on using up the corn, bell pepper, and tomatoes from our garden and the CSA bag, plus shrimp I found in the freezer. That means we’ll be doing jambalaya today, shrimp burrito bowls later in the week, a vegetarian chili (yay for fall!) and leftover chicken stew from last week. Hubby is back on the calorie counting wagon, so it’ll be good to have lots of tasty, healthy dinner options for all of us to enjoy. Speaking of meals, last week’s ratatouille was divine! I’ll definitely share a recap later this week!

Have a great week everyone!

O made a heart for me with his letters on the dishwasher because I had achy ribs and he wanted me to feel better. :) It definitely helped (still not sure why they were so sore!)

O made a heart for me with his letters on the dishwasher because I had achy ribs and he wanted me to feel better. 🙂 It definitely helped (still not sure why they were so sore!)

 

7 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A new PR!

  1. Kristin says:

    Great job on your PR and workouts!! You work so hard and your hard work is definitely paying off!! Fabulous job!! Have an awesome rest day!! XOXO!!

  2. So glad to hear about your great 10 miler yesterday! I can’t wait to read the full recap! I loved your idea of using mulch to mark the hill repeats. I usually keep track in my head, but it is so easy to get off track! I will have to give mulch/sticks/rocks a try on my next hill repeats. It sounds like you have a lot of great meals lined up this week. I’m on a major shrimp kick right now; I can’t get enough! 🙂 I hope you enjoyed your rest day today!

    • I love shrimp! For a long time, it was the only meat Oliver would eat so it’s always been in heavy rotation at our house.

      I always ended up doing extra intervals because I’d lose track and would rather do more than less – it felt almost like cheating to do the exact number I was supposed to do.

      On Sun, Sep 7, 2014 at 11:58 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  3. I REALLY wanted to make chili this week but it’s still too stinkin’ hot! Gah! Hurry up Fall weather :0)

    Great job in your workouts this week. I love your idea of keeping track of hill repeats!

Leave a Reply

