A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

September’s Ultimate Coffee Date

on September 6, 2014

This is an absolutely lovely fall morning for a coffee date. Thanks to Jill, Nikki and Lynda for hosting!

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

I’m very sure the first thing we’d talk about over coffee today is how gorgeous the weather is – today’s high is in the 70s here in Nebraska! Fall is my favorite season in the Midwest, by far. Before we know it, we’ll be wearing sweaters and turning the fireplace on in the evening and crunching through fallen leaves. I cannot wait!

With fall coming, we’re already looking at holiday plans because I know that Thanksgiving and Christmas are going to be here before we know it! As much as I love the holidays, that doesn’t mean we’re already getting decorations ready or playing holiday music (although I am looking forward to Idina Menzel’s Christmas album). It does mean that we’ve started looking at who is hosting and making travel arrangements. As much as we like our lives in Nebraska, we are far away from family so it makes the holidays a little more challenging. If we fly for Thanksgiving, how on earth will I bring home all of my Black Friday loot? ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of logistics to think about.

Fall also means football season, so we’d definitely talk about how well my Aggies did last week (Whoop!) and the lovely story coming out of Cinncinnati this week. Apparently, the Bengals re-signed a player to their practice squad (that they’d cut) so he would have the income, insurance, and ability to work close to the hospital where his child is getting treatment for cancer. We hear so much cynical and depressing new in the world – it’s nice to hear something inherently good (and the cynic in me really hopes that we never hear a darker “rest of the story” if there is one).

If you’re a geek like me, we’d talk about the new Doctor Who because there is a new episode tonight about Robin Hood that I am definitely looking forward to. I’ll confess that my opinion of the new Doctor is a bit skewed by the fact that I just really don’t like Clara. I find myself wanting her to get out of the way so I can better decide if I like the new guy or not. One of the perks of coming to Doctor Who relatively later in its course is knowing that I will learn to appreciate each Doctor as their own entity as things go along, so I’m
okay with waiting to see how evolves. I started with Matt Smith, who I loved and actually had to learn to appreciate David Tennant, who I didn’t initially like. So far, the new guy is interesting.

If you aren’t a geek like me, we’d probably talk about the race I ran today and how it (fingers crossed!) went so much better than my 5K earlier this week! I love a new distance – as my first 10 mile race, it’s an automatic PR. ๐Ÿ™‚ While I did the math on the McMillan site to see what my needs to be to move up my anticipated half marathon time (to bump up my corral for StarWars in Disneyland, of course!), I really didn’t have a time goal for this race. I just wanted to run it and feel good about how I controlled my pace. Hopefully, as we sit here I’m raving about how well it went. ๐Ÿ™‚

coffee
September is lovely time to sit around with a cup of coffee and some friends. What would you like to talk about?

8 responses to “September’s Ultimate Coffee Date

  1. Kristin says:

    Ohhhh yummy, so TOTALLY just drank a Starbucks pumpkin iced coffee!! YUUUM!!! I’m in the mood to talk!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hehe!! I LOVE Fall, too!! Such a great time of year that always makes me reminisce about being a kid. I love candy corn, Halloween, and anything pumpkin!! XOXO!! Have a fabulous weekend!!

  2. courage2run says:

    Hello fellow Whovian! I started with the ninth doctor, Christopher Eccleston. Every doctor takes his time growing on me, then when I finally accept them as a true doctor they go and regenerate! Then the cycle starts all over again. I think Clara is beautiful and liked her when she was first introduced, however after watching interview with her, I’ve learned she didn’t watch Dr. Who before she was cast! What is that?! Let a true Whovian be cast! As far as Capaldi, I agree, I think he needs a new companion, before I can make up my mind…

  3. […] September’s Ultimate Coffee Date Sep […]

  4. I can’t wait to start decorating for Fall :0)

Leave a Reply

