A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

September goals: Bring on fall!

on September 1, 2014

September is one of my favorite months and I hope I’m not too busy this particular September (crazy huge project at work) to enjoy it! September just screams football, apples, weather cooling off and the end of crazy summer weather. Here’s hoping that last part is true! That said, part of my mind is definitely rebelling and thinks we have another week of August still to go. Time just flies! My husband and I were talking about Thanksgiving plans earlier this weekend because we know it’ll be here before we know it!

Looking back at my August goals, it’s definitely been a mixed bag of success, even though it feels like a great month overall. Honestly, my runs have just felt so good despite the crazy weather that it feels like it has been a really successful month. πŸ™‚ That’s what counts right?

August goals

Yoga I’m definitely doing better about incorporating yoga moves into my regular evening routine, even if I’m not doing many dedicated yoga workouts still. I’ve spent many of the evenings I might otherwise spend on yoga walking to catch up my 10K steps a day so those two goals have been at odds! I’ll keep this on the list for September, just to keep it in my mind.

I really need to find a mommy & me yoga class!

I really need to find a mommy & me yoga class!

Decreasing artificial sweeteners I have totally rocked this one and so glad I did! My Splenda had definitely been creeping up and up and up for some reason and I’ve cut back by a third to half in my coffee every day. Yay me!

Lifetime Fitness 10K a Day Challenge I am more than a little disgusted to realize that I apparently am going to miss the goal of 10K a day for the whole challenge because on Friday night I was 31 steps short at bedtime. I cannot fathom how that happened as I check my FitBit every night to be sure I’m there before I go to bed (yes, a bit stubborn about this) and yet the FitBit software has only 9969 recorded that day. Sigh. Such frustration for the perfectionist in me and yet I’m glad I did it. I averaged 12,827 steps a day (as of Sunday) and that’s not shabby! I promise to you all that I will not let the fact that I’ve screwed up the 10K a day I needed to get the $50 in gym bucks (which I honestly wouldn’t have used anyway) keep me from still getting 10K a day until the challenge is over this weekend. This has taught me that in the future, I’m a 10K a day AVERAGE person so that I can still protect rest days. I miss real rest days.

After our usual Sunday morning breakfast date, O wanted to go for a walk out on the trail, so that gave me a real head start on steps for the day :)

After our usual Sunday morning breakfast date, O wanted to go for a walk out on the trail, so that gave me a real head start on steps for the day πŸ™‚

Good Deed a Week I’m really loving this! What I love most is a) taking notice of all of the good deeds I do just as habit during my day – little things count! and b) talking to Oliver about doing good deeds. We’ll definitely keep this up.

 

Our good deed yesterday was fetching a wayward Trader Joe's cart that was WAY across the shopping center and returning it to Trader Joe's. :)

Our good deed yesterday was fetching a wayward Trader Joe’s cart that was WAY across the shopping center and returning it to Trader Joe’s. πŸ™‚

Run a “Magic” Mile I haven’t made time for this, honestly. I was tempted to say I haven’t had time, but that’s not really true. I just haven’t MADE time and so onto the September list it goes!

September Goals

I have a huge, career defining type of project due at the beginning of October, so September is going to be really busy on the work front. Thus, I’m not really going to make any new goals other than to finish my August goals (10K a day for the rest of this week, yoga and a Magic mile), stick with my 13.FUN training plan and be kind to myself. This is going to be a busy month, so I need to focus on keeping my stress under control, forgiving myself for lapses in “perfect” parenthood and wifedom, and any struggles with my food and activity. I may be using this space to remind me of that throughout the month. πŸ™‚ I’m trying to schedule in some fun, stress-relieving things as well to help (which includes two for-fun races, a date night with hubby next weekend and taking O to the theater!). Maybe I’ll promise myself a weekly bubble bath too. πŸ™‚ I’ll definitely be taking advantage of lots of slow cooker meals, prepping on the weekend and being okay with eating out more than usual this month too!

What’s your favorite season? Mine is fall, without a doubt! I love everything about it and one of my favorite things about living in the Midwest is that we get a really nice fall, complete leaves changing, warm cider, sweaters and crackling fireplaces on chilly evenings – all starting by the end of the month (hopefully)!

Good luck with all of your September goals!

11 responses to “September goals: Bring on fall!

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, you are such a fabulous person!! You should be SO proud of yourself!! You’re an amazing woman!! XOXO!!! I LOVE September and October!!!

    • I can’t wait for October – I have lots of travel, my half marathon and best of all, real fall weather all month long! Can’t wait!

      On Mon, Sep 1, 2014 at 3:10 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. What a great month you’ve had! Even though you mentioned that it seems like a mixed result based on your goals, I really think your running and the momentum you’ve had on that front has been such a huge achievement. I think Mommy and me yoga is brilliant; hope you and O can find a class! Good luck with your work project this month (don’t forget about the weekly bubble bath; I think that’s a brilliant idea, too!)! My favorite season is a tie between fall and spring, I think. I love the cooler weather and Halloween is my favorite holiday, so fall may win out a bit over spring. I do miss the extra daylight though, and I’m going to miss swimming in the pool terribly now that the pool is closed for the season!

  3. […] September goals: Bring on fall! Sep […]

  4. Great job on last month’s goals and wishing you the best of luck on your project at work this month! You go girl!

    And my favorite season is hands down Fall as well :0) Nothing better than football season, sweatshirts and jeans, and pumpkin spice everything!

  5. […] slack this weekend. These articles were exactly what I need during a month where I’ve set a goal to be kind to myself. […]

  6. […] am embracing my goal of being kind to myself and therefore, while this week wasn’t stellar in terms of workouts, I am going to be totally […]

  7. […] of balance and practicality, coming off of a month where I was constantly reminding myself of my goal to be kind I really appreciate this post from MissZippy on Outhealthing Health. We can so easily get caught in […]

  8. […] back at my September goals, I am so glad that my only real goal for the month was to be kind to myself. I came back that idea […]

Leave a Reply

