A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Runners World Favorites

on August 29, 2014

My first favorite of the week has got to be my Aggies upset win over South Carolina yesterday! Whoop! No one tell Darrell, but I’m definitely going to turn Oliver into an Aggie fan (I’m Class of ’00). I need to dig up my Twelfth Man towel for him.

My second favorite moment of the week has to got to be my good deed of the week, which would be catching Grandma Ellie as she fell off the runway at the drag gong show I went to over the weekend (fundraiser for work). Thank goodness I was paying attention and caught her. After 30 seconds or so of getting her reset, she just kept on dancing. She was having such a great time! I hope when I’m her age I’m still dancing like that!

Grandma Ellie got lots of tips!

Grandma Ellie got lots of tips!

In honor of Runner’s World’s new cover look they’re going to be doing, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite recent (to me anyway) Runner’s World pieces.

First up is the hilarious and true Starting to Run? Abandon All Reason column by Marc Parent. I really love the Newbie Chronicles in Runner’s World and this one was so very true. I particularly liked the advice not to give up cashews – only take one big lifestyle change at a time or you might get a little discouraged – and the bit about putting off thinking. As I continue to slog through a soggy, humid August, I’m constantly reminding myself not to think too much and just run!

My husband and I got lots of laughs from Mark Remy’s Sock Mishap Sends Runner to ER. For months I would put my socks on the wrong feet almost every time, even when I tried to remember to pay attention to the little L and R on the socks! Thank goodness I never ended up needing medical attention. 😉

I check to be sure I have them right before big races. :)

I check to be sure I have my socks right before big races. 🙂

Thanks to a super-busy work week, I haven’t been running my preferred early morning runs this week. Instead, I’ve been hauling myself out in the dark and damp to run at night. The numbers geek in me really enjoyed this article from Runner’s World this week about what time people run all over the world. Apparently, they looked at data from Run Keeper all over the world to figure out what time of day people head out to run and it is fascinating. In Scandinavian countries,  because the days can be very short many people run at lunch. In India, because of the high temps and the traffic, most people run very early in the morning. If you’re into data and graphs (raises hand geekily!) definitely check it out – very interesting!

My last favorite has to be my favorite silly goose of a kid – I love that our photographer got his silly moments too! (Okay, probably the last kid pic – I’ll try!)

My two favorite guys getting silly.

My two favorite guys getting silly.

Have a safe fun holiday weekend everyone!

2 responses to “Friday Favorites: Runners World Favorites

  1. OMG that sock mishap…hilarious! Definitely need to be careful of your socks hahaha! :0) Have a great weekend Jess!

    • I was glad to see I wasn’t the only one having trouble keeping my socks on the right feet. 🙂 Have a good weekend Lauren!

      On Fri, Aug 29, 2014 at 11:26 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

