A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Another run-iversary!

on August 26, 2014

Two years ago today, I went for my very first run. I am so glad that I re-read last year’s run-iversary post! Today is a crazy busy and I’m not sure how I’m going to my 5 mile run in. Something about the joy and hope and absolute optimism about my running that is in last year’s celebration makes me realize how far I’ve come and WHY I’ve come so far – this is fun. 🙂 It’s fun in some of the moments of running and it’s especially fun in the rockstar afterglow of running.

In honor of the hopeful girl a year ago and that rockstar of a girl two years who headed out on that first run, an update to let them both know how far we’ve come:

– I ran that 10K I was training for this time last year and crossed the finish line with a literal smile!

Finishing my first 10K with a smile :)

Finishing my first 10K with a smile 🙂

– I’ve run all of a 5K race, which was such a huge accomplishment for me. Since then, not only have I run a sub-30 minute 5K, I’ve run more races than I can easily recount and almost always have a new race on the horizon (currently 4 on the schedule!).

– My “slow” running then was a 15 minute mile and now I feel slow at 12 minute miles. That’s 3 minutes faster and that’s huge! Even more importantly though, now I truly believe that a mile is a mile – there is no slow in running. It’s all running. 🙂

I ran through Cinderella's castle!

I ran through Cinderella’s castle!

– Not only did I run that half marathon, I’ve got two half marathons on the schedule for the next 6 months and one of those is actually going to be a 10K one day followed by a half marathon the next. A year ago, 13.1 miles seemed pie in the sky – 19.3 in two days was unimaginable!

– I set a goal to run in all 50 states and now I’m up to 16, with plans to cross Pennsylvania, Maryland, Utah and possibly DC off the list by the end of October.

Things have changed so much in a year. Running is now part of my life, my stress relief and my joy more so than part of my health and my weight loss. I can’t wait to see what next year’s run-iversary looks like! All of this definitely has me in a much better mindset for tackling 5 little old miles on such a chaotic day – 5 miles is just a fraction of how far I’ve come so far!!

 

7 responses to “Another run-iversary!

  1. So amazing how far you’ve come Jess! Way to go!

  2. This was so inspiring to read! I’ve been running on and off for about a year now, but I’ve been running more intentionally this summer, and it’s been so great for me! It’s so exciting to see how far you have come in two years. It gives me hope! 🙂

Leave a Reply

