A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A new kind of workout done!

on August 24, 2014

This was an interesting week of workouts, in good and bad ways, from the craziness of Tuesdays split-three-ways run to Saturday’s 8 miler with “ten minutes strong finish” on the schedule.

Workouts

Monday My lovely impromptu 20 minute walk outside, plus lots of running around day to get me to 10K steps.

Tuesday Ultimately, I got in 7 miles in a 2 mile, 3 mile and 2 mile split over the course of the day. I would not recommend this approach but I got it done. I’m happy to say that I ran all of the 3 mile middle chunk on the treadmill without a walk break. It’s been a while since I did that!

Wednesday I was sore from Tuesday, so only a 20 minute walk plus lots of stretching.

Thursday 5 miles, tackled in one fell swoop in the morning before work. It felt good to get a run done correctly after Tuesday’s chaos!

Friday Cross training – some yoga with my favorite little partner, plus 45 minutes walking.

My favorite yoga pose :)

My favorite yoga pose šŸ™‚

Saturday Training plan called for an 8 miler with “ten minute strong finish”, in which we are instructed to pretend our kids are chasing us. šŸ™‚ I headed out to the park where my co-worker was running her first 5K, so I could cheer her across the finish line after I’d finished my run. The fun part of that was getting to start my run by crossing through their finish line.

imageIt was 95+% humidity, so I took it easy for the first 7-ish miles and decided that my strong finish would mean running the last 0.8 miles (thinking that would be 8-10 minutes) without a walk break. In the humidity, after 7 miles, that was definitely tough but I’m proud to say that not only did I run it all at the end, I ran it at less than 10 minute mile pace which is great for me! It’s so good to see such real improvement in my running over the last year. I definitely could not have finished with such a good sustained effort 6 months ago! It was also really nice to have an excuse to be out at my favorite park and to cheer Raven across the finish line for her first 5K!

I love the little detours onto tree line paths in this park!

I love the little detours onto tree line paths in this park!

Sunday A rest day, but I still need to get 10K steps in for the day. I have to say, I don’t enjoy getting myself up and moving that much on my one real rest day for the week and in that sense, will be glad when the 10K step a day challenge is over. I think I’ll go back to a goal of averaging 10K steps a day. šŸ™‚

Today we’re out for family pictures to make up for the rained-out session a few weeks ago. Hopefully I’ll have some nice new pics to share soon! I hope you guys all had a great week!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A new kind of workout done!

  1. Great job on your 8 mile run with a strong finish!!! I am glad you were able to watch your friend finish her first 5K too!

  2. What a great week and Tuesday? Whew; that’s dedication! So proud of you for getting out there, especially in the heat and humidity, and for such a great pace at the finish of your 8 miler. I love that you went out to cheer on your friend, too, for her first 5K! I saw the sneak peek of your family pics on Facebook and my goodness, they are beautiful!! I love them! Hope you have a great week!

    • Our photographer is seriously outstanding. She manages to catch the perfect moments with O. I’m sure you guys will be seeing lots of those photos on the blog this week because I just love them so much!

Leave a Reply

