A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weight Loss Wednesday: Losing the last ten pounds

on August 20, 2014

This week, I fell for the click bait and clicked on a web link from the MSN home page about tips for losing the last ten pounds. After all, maybe this one is different right? Wrong. It was the same as all of the others and left me ranting at my computer screen just like I have when I’ve clicked similar links before. The tips are earth shattering things like “stop drinking your calories” and “eat more fiber” and “eat breakfast”. Am I the only one who gets all ranty about things like this? If I’ve lost weight and gotten down to the “last” ten pounds, odds are very very good I’ve already done these things! Am I right? Grrrr.

Here are my real-girl tips for losing the ten pounds:

1) Be patient. When you get to the “last” ten pounds, know that things will very likely slow down. That’s normal. As you get smaller, you burn fewer calories at baseline and fewer calories with exercise than you did when you were heavier because it takes less work to move your mass through space. If weight loss is a calories in/calories out process in broad strokes and your “calories out” is going down because of weight loss success, that space difference between calories in/out can be smaller without us realizing it. There are some who theorize that metabolism is slowed after weight loss as well, which can factor in too.

2) Check your adherence to the plan. Early in weight loss, it’s a little easier to make big strides because we usually have some “big” bad habits to change. When I made the change from all you can eat pizza to all you can eat salad, that was a huge difference in calories right? When you get further along in your healthy lifestyle journey, it can be time to start paying attention to the small changes you still need to tweak. Maybe I need to measure the amount of cottage cheese or look at how many tastes I’m taking of O’s pizza or how much creamer is going in my coffee throughout the day.

Oliver has been excited by the sign all month, so last night we went to check it out. Well, they did and I hit the salad bar. In the old days I could definitely get more than my money's worth here!

Oliver has been excited by the sign all month, so last night we went to check it out. Well, they did and I hit the salad bar. In the old days I could definitely get more than my money’s worth here!

3) Increase the intensity or duration of your exercise. If you’ve settled into a workout routine, think about adding some high intensity intervals or a little extra time or distance. Our bodies naturally get more efficient with any given exercise over time. That’s part of what helps us to improve but also means that our bodies may burn fewer calories doing that activity as you get better at. Changing things up, in terms of finding a new activity, adding some speed bursts to your running or an extra 10 minute walk a day, may be what you need to tip over the edge.

4) Resist the urge to make drastic changes. Remember that you’re in this for the rest of your life, so don’t drastically restrict yourself in order to rush to the end. I will confess that I did this, partially accidentally and partially by intention. I stalled out at 10 pounds to go, then got so sick I couldn’t eat for a week and lost 3 pounds! I hadn’t had a loss like in ages and let it tempt me into seriously undereating for the next two weeks just to get the rest of the way to my goal weight. I honestly think part of my struggle in maintenance, early on, was due to rushing the end with eating patterns I couldn’t maintain. Remember that the number one rule for this process is not anything to lose weight you aren’t going to do forever!

5) Be patient. Absolutely worth mentioning twice. Remember that regardless of what the scale says, you are eating healthy food and moving your body and being kind to yourself. Those things are good for your health and you well being in ways that are far above and beyond what the scale says. The scale is an important tool, but it is just one tool and sometimes it misbehaves for no good reason. Be patient, take a deep breath and know that it will come off in its own time. This just gives me plenty of time to practice maintenance and get to know these last ten pounds, because those will be the ones you keep an eye on working through maintenance.

And resist those click-bait articles 🙂 I promise, you’ve read it all before.

What are your favorite tips for dealing with those last ten pounds?

6 responses to “Weight Loss Wednesday: Losing the last ten pounds

  1. Kristin says:

    Hi!! Great tips!! I really think patience is the key!! That’s good you mentioned it twice!! Also, increasing intensity of exercise can really help!! You’re amazing!! Have a fabulous day!! XOXO!!

  2. Great tips Jess! Patience is such a huge part…and one of the most difficult parts for a world where instant is the norm. I also have to 2nd the upping the intensity tip. Running long distances is great, but speed work and getting that heart rate up is what helps burn calories faster!

  3. leannenalani says:

    I LOVE this. #4 is especially helpful for me because I always get that urge to eat as little as possible and exercise way more than necessary just to get that last push. Patience is the name of the game. I just wish I’d keep that patience. When I lose it, that’s when I backtrack and eat badly and then gain even more.

    • I still struggle with the patience thing, with all of it really. I feel like maintenance is just a daily fight with those last ten pounds that never ends. Sigh.

      On Sat, Aug 23, 2014 at 12:14 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

