A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A lovely evening for a walk . . .

on August 19, 2014

Last night I had to run out for gas and on the way out of my neighborhood, I passed so many people out walking. They were out with their spouses and their dogs and their children and it was such a lovely thing to see. Since my diabetes screen last week (I’m okay, by the way), I’ve been thinking back over the things I learned from my time with gestational diabetes. One of my favorite things from that time period was taking a walk after dinner. I was always amazed at how much a simple walk (or waddle at that time) around the block helped my blood sugar control. More than that, it just such a peaceful, pleasant note to end the evening on.

With that in mind, after I filled the car, I impulsively stopped over at a little park near the grocery store for a walk.

I have visions of running/walking around this path when O is old enough to play on the playground within it without such close supervision!

I have visions of running/walking around this path when O is old enough to play on the playground within it without such close supervision!

It’s such a pleasant little park, with a path that is a little over half a mile to circle. It’s hilly enough to be interesting and there are loads of trees. It was also a great viewing spot for this evening’s sunset.

I never regret any moment I take to appreciate the sunset.

i I never regret any moment I take to appreciate the sunset.

I was only out walking for 20 minutes, but it was enough to clear my mind and get me to my 10,000 step goal for the day. I’ve had a lot of evenings during this ten thousand step a day challenge where I’ve walked in place, Leslie Sansone-style, to get my last burst of steps in for the day. That’s totally fine – what you can, when you can, right? – but actually heading out for a walk with a beautiful sunset was much much more FUN and that was the workout goal for Monday: a FUN workout.

Thanks to all of my neighbors for inspiring me to get out for a walk this evening! You never know who is watching your healthy choices and taking motivation from them, so keep it up everyone!

5 responses to “A lovely evening for a walk . . .

  1. Kristin says:

    Awww, how inspiring!! Way to go you! What a great message- that you never know who you inspire!! So true!! Well, you inspire me!! You’re amazing!! XOXO!!

  2. Evening walks are the best! Especially during the Fall time!

  3. […] My lovely impromptu 20 minute walk outside, plus lots of running around day to get me to 10K […]

Leave a Reply

