A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Blogiversary edition!

on August 15, 2014

Today, my little blog is a year old. I still remember sitting out on the deck talking to my husband about registering for the Princess Half Marathon as a way to stay on track with my running and my weight maintenance and starting a blog to help with accountability on both the weight and running fronts. I’d never imagined at that point that I’d have written 300 plus posts and developed this fantastic community of support. This has been a great experience and has exceeded every goal I ever had in terms of support and accountability. You guys are like this little invisible army of supporters I get to carry with on good days and bad and your virtual support and good vibes mean the world to me!

In honor of my blogiversary, I pulled up my WordPress stats to see what were the most commented and viewed posts on the blog, to see how well your favorites matched up with my own. Not surprisingly, my “About Me” and “Weight Milestones” posts were at the top of the list for views as they’re flagged on the homepage. More surprising, just because it would have never crossed my mind, was how high my review of the Skinnytaste Chicken Taco Chili recipe was on the list! I still absolutely love that recipe and look forward to making it again when cooler weather comes back around. If you’ve never tried out, definitely do so when it cools down in your neck of the woods.

Of course, my recaps of the Princess Half Marathon (1 and 2) were high on the list of views and comments. Knowing how many blogs I read when I was looking for information about the Princess Half Marathon, I’m glad to know that I was able to put my experience out there to help someone else. Honestly, I still re-read those posts myself just to relive the awesomeness of that experience. How much of a geek does it make me to admit that I re-read my own blog posts?

I still remember and love this moment :)

I still remember and love this moment ๐Ÿ™‚

Similarly, the Castaway Cay 5K recap was high on the list of most visited posts and knowing how many blogs I read trying to get more information when I set this as my “goal” race when I first started running back in 2012. It’s actually going to be the first course I’ve ever run twice, when I get to visit Castaway Cay again next year!

Castaway Cay is a gorgeous (humid) place to run!

Castaway Cay is a gorgeous (humid) place to run!

There were several other Disney related posts near the top of the “most visited” list (Race Retreat, MyDisney Experience walkthrough and Be Our Guest among them), but I would say that the Princess Half Marathon and Casataway Cay recaps were definitely the most fun for me as it let me relive such a great moment in my life.

One of the highest non-Disney posts on the list is the Exposed post from October 2013. That was the first blog post where I really felt like I was baring something of myself figuratively in a way that was slightly scary to me. It was hard to write and yet I was proud of myself for clicking publish and letting it fling out into the world. Reading it now, I admit that my discomfort with my body and especially my belly are things I still struggle with a lot but I think being honest about that struggle is important for me to admit to myself and hopefully will help some other struggling soul out there.

I’ve gotten a lot, personally, from some of the posts I’ve written about binge eating, my struggles with setting a goal weight and frustrations with Weight Watchers. Writing my thoughts really helped me identify the most important factors and make a plan for going forward, and the feedback and input from you guys as I struggle with big things is so handy.

On a lighter note, I admit that some of my favorite posts to put together are the various holiday gift idea posts (like runners stockings, healthy stockings, Easter baskets). I get to do a little virtual shopping and as a bonus, since my husband reads the blog, those gifts frequently show up in my real life! Win win, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m not someone who really pays much attention to blog statistics, I confess. I have the luxury of using this space for fun and social support, not for any business purposes, so I don’t worry about followers or SEO or anything like that. Despite that, it was fun to look back and see what the last year has been like. We’ll see what the next year brings!

I appreciate you all so much and send my best vibes out into the world for you all every time I sit down to play in the space at night. I hope you’ve gotten at least a fraction of the support and smiles from me that I’ve gotten from all of you. Thank you all for being part of my invisible army for the last year!

 

 

8 responses to “Friday Favorites: Blogiversary edition!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Happy 1-year blogoversary!!! Has it only been a year? Feels like I’ve been enjoying your blog for longer. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks! I can’t believe it’s been a year myself – it feels like it has been part of my routine and my support system forever!

      On Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 9:43 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. Happy blogiversary, friend! If re-reading your blog posts makes you a geek, we shall be geeks together, because I do the same! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your holiday gift ideas posts and your recipe recaps! I love all of your posts! Your honesty, candor, and encouragement are much appreciated! So glad to have met you in the blog world! ๐Ÿ™‚ Here’s to another great year of family, running, and blogging!

Leave a Reply

