A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Missing my morning runs

on August 9, 2014

I mentioned yesterday that I’d had my sleep all screwed up Sunday night thanks to a migraine. As I get older, I’m finding harder and harder to recover from a bad night of sleep! This has resulted in sleeping in every single morning this week, instead of getting out of bed to run when the alarm clock goes off. Sigh. That’s only resulted in one truly short-changed workout, as I’ve managed to squeeze things in later in the day but it has been tough! I’ve done so well running in the morning for the last few months, I forgot how hard it is get out there to run at the end of the day. After dinner, bedtime and getting ready for the next day, it’s so hard to find the energy to haul myself outside to run. The fact that it’s August and I’m dripping sweat by the time I go even a mile doesn’t help me feel like getting out there!

I’m also still tired but I’m not sure how much of that is due to the bad sleep and how much is due to my lack of early morning workouts. It definitely gives me a lot more energy to get through the day, when I get my run in early. I can remember when it felt so hard to get up and run in the morning, but I really got in the habit of going out in the morning and now I miss it.

I could get back in the swing of morning runs with my long run today, except we have family photos this morning so there won’t be time. I have to allow a fair amount of time for my hair to air dry because I’m incapable of actually styling it, so I’ll hope it dries in something presentable! Also, who knows how much wrangling it will take to get my guys appropriately dressed this morning. Wish us luck! And wish me luck getting myself out for my 8 miles later today without TOO much procrastination. 🙂

He is so much bigger in just a year. I can't wait to see how this year's pictures turn out!

He is so much bigger in just a year. I can’t wait to see how this year’s pictures turn out!

Have a good Saturday!

 

2 responses to “Missing my morning runs

  1. So sorry to hear about your migraine! I’ve only had a few in my life, but gosh, they are debilitating. Glad you were able to sleep in a bit this week to hopefully rest up and that you were able to get your runs in later in the day! 🙂 Here’s to no more migraines and a return to morning running! (Says the girl who can never get out of bed to go run in the morning)

    • I definitely used to be a girl who dreaded getting out of bed early to run, but now I really appreciate getting it done for the day early!!

      On Sun, Aug 10, 2014 at 12:25 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

