A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Cooler weather means faster runs!

on August 3, 2014

Am I the only person who is tempted to skip ahead to tackle longer runs on the training plan when the weather is nice and so running-friendly? I found myself thinking that it was a shame I only had 7 miles to run yesterday morning, thanks to the not too-hot and not-too humid weather. Who knows what August will be like and it is so tempting to take advantage of gorgeous days! Don’t worry – I didn’t. I’m sticking to the plan, I promise. 🙂

Weekly Workouts

Monday 45 minutes walking at the mall while my oil was being changed, plus 20 minutes of gardening with O when we got home. The training plan called for a “fun” workout but after the dustup at school with O Monday afternoon, I couldn’t get my  mind around a truly “fun” workout and just called things good enough with my mall laps.

Tuesday 7 miles in the morning, complete with mostly negative splits and a truly fantastic feeling run! I was so worried about getting in so many miles on a work day, so I am really proud of myself for getting up early enough to get this done. The weather was simply gorgeous and cool, which helped tremendously! My overall pace was 11:20, which was great for such an early morning run.

Spying a cute little bridge in the early morning light brought a smile to my face on my Tuesday AM run.

Spying a cute little bridge in the early morning light brought a smile to my face on my Tuesday AM run.

Wednesday Cross training or rest on the training schedule, so I took a rest day after that long Tuesday run! Truly, things were just crazy busy.

Thursday I had a dinner after work, so I didn’t get my workout in until 8 o’clock. As it was a speed work session, I’d planned on doing it at the gym on the treadmill anyway. I really needed this run, emotionally, on Thursday night. I was already on edge from O’s school issues, then had a chaotic afternoon at work (that spilled over into me needing to come in on Friday several times on my “day off”, dragging O along since school was closed) and the straw that broke the camel’s back, not being able to call soon enough to tell O goodnight over the phone like I’d promised him. A tiny thing I know, but in a tough week, it had me near tears. It felt a lot better to pound that out on the treadmill. The workout called for a 10 minute warm up, followed by 6 1 minute speed intervals (I did 7 mph X 2, 7.3 mph, 7.5 mph, 7.7 mph, 8 mph X 2) with 2 minute recovery between and a 10 minute cool down to finish. I love the challenge of these speed and hill workouts!

Friday Cross-training or 4 miles on the schedule, which ended up being 70 minutes of much needed yoga. I had over 10,000 steps for the day well before I had a chance to think about a workout, thanks to running around town back and forth to work, as well as trying to get some fun time with O in. I say this every time I dedicate more than 2 minutes to yoga but boy do I need to do this more often!

Saturday Long run for the week was 7 miles and I tried out my new Ghost 7s. I think they’ll work out great – 7  miles with no foot pain or other issues, other than the tightness in my left leg that I’d noticed on Friday. It’s funny because it was warmer for this run than Tuesday’s 7 miler (later in the morning), so I felt like I was slower and I definitely took more walk breaks. My Garmin battery died at around mile 5 – I forgot to charge it after Tuesday’s run – so I was shocked to get home and find out that I finished this 7 miles about a minute faster than I did on Tuesday. When I’m running, I’m definitely running faster and that’s exciting, especially since my walk breaks seem to correlate with temperature more than anything else. I think my time goal for my half marathon is well within my reach if the weather cooperates in October!!

I came across this wooded lot, named "Whipporwill Farm" in the midst of the suburbs on my run this morning! I love these little surprises to reward me for taking new turns on the path. :)

I came across this wooded lot, named “Whipporwill Farm” in the midst of the suburbs on my run this morning! I love these little surprises to reward me for taking new turns on the path. 🙂

Possibly the best part of my day Saturday was taking a nap with Oliver in the big bed. I started falling asleep before he did and he patted my cheek so sweetly before holding my hand while he fell asleep too. Such a heartbreakingly sweet kid, truly.

Sunday Rest day on deck today, but if I don’t get some strength training done, I’ll be batting a big old ZERO for strength training this week. I’ve definitely got to get better about that!

Yesterday I picked up a new flavor of the Light n Fit Greek yogurt. I loved the caramel macchiato I tried last week and grabbed strawberry cheesecake to test out as well. It tastes amazingly like Blue Bell Strawberry Cheesecake ice cream, which is actually a bad thing as that is an ice cream I have really vivid memories of binging on in the old days. Thus, I don’t think I’ll be buying this flavor again because it is making me feel inexplicably odd. I feel that ashamed, self-disgusted post-binge feeling even though it was just a cup of 80 calorie yogurt! Totally not worth it. Memory works in weird ways, doesn’t it?

Strawberry Cheesecake - amazingly like Blue Bell's strawberry cheesecake ice cream!

Strawberry Cheesecake – amazingly like Blue Bell’s strawberry cheesecake ice cream!

I hope you all had a great week and have a restful Sunday!

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Cooler weather means faster runs!

  1. leannenalani says:

    The warm weather has been pretty relentless here, so between the hours of 4-10pm if we don’t have an air conditioner running it gets kind of unbearable. It’s pretty strange for western WA to have so many 85-90 degree days in a row. Hopefully when your longer runs come around the weather will still play nice.

    • I hope so. I don’t think I’ve ever lived somewhere without the AC running all day all summer. That is really warm weather for you guys! Hope you get a break soon!

      On Sun, Aug 3, 2014 at 11:44 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

  2. I honestly cannot believe how nice the weather was this weekend, even here in Houston! It had its hot moments, but a lot of the time it felt like a beautiful Fall morning. I want it back! lol

    Great job this week with your workouts. I totally agree that yoga is awesome for cross training!

    It is crazy how the memory works when you are reminded with certain sights, smells, tastes, and other things. I think there is something out there that triggers a not-so-great feeling for all of us.

    • Thankfully, O loves that yogurt so he’ll eat it all for me. 🙂

      You’ve definitely got to embrace the break from the brutal summer down in Houston!

      On Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 12:44 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

