A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Coffee Date #5: Boy do I need that cup of coffee this morning!

on August 2, 2014

Today I might even splurge on something more frou frou than my usual brewed coffee. Yesterday was a crazy day!

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

Ultimate Coffee Date: jillconyers.com

If we were having coffee this morning . . . I’d probably spend the first ten minutes running through my crazy Friday for you. Daycare was closed for a teacher in service day, so I’d planned ages ago to be off for the day. Thanks to a series of snafus that were no one’s fault, I ended up having to come in to cover something at work twice during the day, dragging O along with me, with a third visit in the middle to sort out some logistics. He was such a trooper but it was an exhausting day for both of us! Thank goodness for the dry erase board in my office, which kept him happily occupied while I worked.

Exhausting Friday!

Exhausting Friday!

We did manage to get in at least a little of our original plan for our Mommy-Oliver day off, which we really needed after the stressful events of earlier this week. We went to a pottery store to paint some ceramics for my parents’ birthdays next month and had a lovely time together.

Arts & crafts time!

Arts & crafts time!

If we were having coffee this morning . . . we’d probably talk about this morning’s 7 mile run in my new shoes. While I’m not having any problems with my Asics that I’ve run in for the last year, I decided to pick up a similar shoe from a different line so I’m trying out some Brooks Ghost 7s this week. I think running in something slightly different periodically will be good for my feet in the long run. There is just something so refreshing about a run in new shoes. πŸ™‚

New shoes!

New shoes!

If we were having coffee this morning . . . we’d talk about how I decided to do yoga for my cross training workout yesterday because I’m having some tightness in my left hamstring for some reason. Even without a more traditional cross training workout, I ended up with over 10,000 steps by 9 o’clock thanks to my crazy day so a more relaxed workout for the day seemed like a good idea when I finally had time to get to working out at 9 pm. Despite constantly telling myself I need to do yoga more often, I can’t remember the last time I devoted an hour to yoga. This was evidenced by the amount of time I spent tearing through my house looking for my favorite yin yoga DVD! While searching, I ran across these three thank you cards for Christmas gifts that apparently never got sent:

Unsent thank you cards - Whoops!

Unsent thank you cards – Whoops!

Now I have the dilemma of whether to send them, 8 months late, or just toss them. I know there’s no such thing as too late for a thank you card, but I have this vague memory of having lost and rewritten thank you cards so I may have already taken care of this. Sigh. Life’s little etiquette dilemmas. Reminds me I should at least get my birthday thank you cards done this weekend.

Are thank you cards a lost bit of etiquette? I always feel like it’s worth the little bit of effort to say thank you in a tangible way, especially when someone goes out of their way to mail us a gift up here. Don’t worry – I’m not someone who gets upset if I don’t get a thank you note because I know they’re falling out of vogue. We’ll definitely have Oliver do them. Any little thing that will help teach him gratitude as we move through life is a good thing, right? Plus, who doesn’t like getting a child’s scribbles in the mail. πŸ™‚

Here’s hoping I have a more relaxing day today than yesterday and the same for you guys as well!

Thanks to Jill, Nikki and Lynda as always for hosting the Ultimate Coffee Date!

4 responses to “Coffee Date #5: Boy do I need that cup of coffee this morning!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Thank you notes are nice but I am often surprised to even get one in the first place because snail mail feels like an odd thing these days. Usually those people have probably already said thank you in person or over the phone, anyway. I think after 8 months it’s ok to let it go. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you cards a wonderful gesture but I’ve never expected them from anyone. If I were to give a gift to someone and they said thank you while I was there with them that would be enough for me! On another note, I do think it’s necessary after a job interview though!

    • When I don’t get one after a job interview, I sort of want to email the person and let them know that it was a fail on their part! I don’t consciously hold it against someone after a job interview, but I do automatically assume the person who sends them is more together and professional.

      On Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 12:50 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

