A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Favorites: Cheering myself up

on August 1, 2014

With the stress of the situation with O this week, some unexpected work things and PMS thrown in the mix, I found myself inexplicably on the verge of tears last night when I didn’t get done with my work dinner meeting in time to talk to O on the phone before his bedtime. To cheer myself up, I reminded myself of all of the things that are making me happy this week:

– Not only was my favorite treadmill available at the gym last night, I conquered another step in my speed work last night. My last interval was at a very speedy (for me) 8 mph and I felt strong the whole way through the workout.

image

– On the way home from the gym, I stopped at Panera to pick out my free birthday pastry. I love all of the little perks that come along with a birthday month and am a little sad it has now come to a close!

image

– I got a fantastic new cookbook that I find myself reading cover to cover, like a novel. I love all of the tips and so many of the recipes look like things my family will enjoy. I’ll definitely post a full review once I get to cook some of them.

image

– On my rockin’ 7 mile run earlier this week, I not only had negative splits for the run (awesome!) and a lovely time, I found a little offshoot of the path that featured a bridge. I am a sucker for running over a picturesque bridge. 🙂

Look at those improving paces! Not much I'll grant you, but definitely liking seeing those miles get even a smidge faster as I go through.

Look at those improving paces! Not much I’ll grant you, but definitely liking seeing those miles get even a smidge faster as I go through.

Spying a cute little bridge in the early morning light brought a smile to my face on my Tuesday AM run.

Spying a cute little bridge in the early morning light brought a smile to my face on my Tuesday AM run.

– Even though my day today is not going to look like I expected it to, I still get to spend lots of it and all of the weekend with this guy, getting loads of quality Oliver – Mommy time while Daddy is at the Omaha SciFi Festival this weekend. That’s always reason to smile. 🙂

He was so proud of himself for being careful while he walked along the elevated border.

He was so proud of himself for being careful while he walked along the elevated border.

What were your favorite moments from the week? Here’s hoping your weekend brings you lots of new favorite moments!

6 responses to “Friday Favorites: Cheering myself up

  1. All in all looks like a really good week despite some of the craziness! Great job on those splits! And I’m a new found Panera addict! OMG I loooove the Strawberry Chicken Poppyseed salad. I had to get one yesterday!

  2. So many good things going on this week! Great job on your runs and have a blast with your family this weekend! :0)

  3. Hugs! Sorry to hear about the rough week, but I love your focus on the positive things! That birthday treat looks so good!! Congrats on your negative splits; that is so great! I loved reading about your rocking 7 miler. 🙂 Enjoy lots of snuggles and quality O time this weekend!

    • The birthday treat was surprisingly disappointing – dry it turns out! Panera pastries really are at their best in the morning. O and I had a great snuggly weekend, which we both needed. 🙂

      On Fri, Aug 1, 2014 at 11:35 PM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

