A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

The power of a place

on July 31, 2014

Saturday morning, I woke up to see that my windows in my house were already fogging over from the heat and humidity before 7 am. Not a great sign, but I got ready and headed out to the park anyway to get my 8 mile long run for the week. I was a little worried because of the weather and because this training plan is definitely pushing more mileage earlier on than I experienced last time. It’s been frustrating feeling so slow with the heat and the humidity, despite reminding myself over and over that it will get better when it is cooler and that this training plan that seems so daunting will pay off in October. I was not in the best mindset, to say the least, as I headed out.

I parked at my gym and headed out through a swankier neighborhood than my own to start my run and after half a mile, I hooked into the trails at Lake Zorinsky. I ran most of my long training runs for the Princess Half Marathon at Lake Zorinsky and something about traveling those paths again this weekend made me feel more confident and at peace with my running than I have in the last couple of weeks. Yes, it was hot and between the sweat and humidity, my running skirt was soaked by mile 3 (and dripping on me with each step!).

I love that there's always a glimpse of wildlife through the trees when I run out here.

I love that there’s always a glimpse of wildlife through the trees when I run out here.

Somehow that mattered a whole lot less as my feet retraced steps I’d taken over and over again through the last year, along the journey to run 13.1 miles for the first time. I saved this trail for my long runs, so every time I finished a run out here during Princess training, I was reaching a new personal best in terms of distance. Maybe that’s why I associate it with “success.” In retracing those steps, I was reminded that I’ve done this before. I’ve put in these miles before and been rewarded by crossing the finish line.

It helps that it really is a gorgeous path, especially in comparison to my normal runs through the suburbs.

It helps that it really is a gorgeous path, especially in comparison to my normal runs through the suburbs.

I can definitely do it again, hopefully happy and safe and faster. 🙂

Do you draw motivation from the places you run? Where’s your favorite place to run?

4 responses to “The power of a place

  1. Kristin says:

    Great job!! Sounds like a wonderful experience!! The path looks really calming and relaxing! Sounds amazing! I love running at The Battlefields!! It’s such a gorgeous place with lots of beautiful animals!! XOXO!!

  2. Beautifully written post! I definitely have a favorite park here in Houston where I enjoy running but since I moved apartments I am not near as close. I can’t wait to start venturing around my new area to find a new favorite running trail/park! :0)

Leave a Reply

