A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Summer’s back with a vengeance

on July 27, 2014

I apparently missed a week of unseasonably cool weather here in Nebraska when I was up in Montana last week but summer is back with a vengeance here for sure. I keep reminding myself that when the race actually gets here in October it’s very unlikely that it will be 90+ heat with crazy high humidity. Whew.

Did I show you guys the moose I came across on my hike the last morning in Montana? She just stared at me as I eased on by!

Did I show you guys the moose I came across on my hike the last morning in Montana? She just stared at me as I eased on by!

Weekly Workouts

Monday The schedule called for 3 miles with strides or cross training. I went the cross training route, with a nice hilly walk. This training plan has a lot more and more intense mileage than the last one, so I’m going with cross training whenever I can to hopefully increase the odds of coming through this injury free. Fingers crossed!

Tuesday 6 miles – all done in the morning before work! This felt like a huge victory because I am seriously concerned about getting this long Tuesday morning runs in. They rotate throughout the training plan, 4, 5, 6, or 7 miles and that can be a ton to get done in a single chunk as a working mom. Anything more than 5 felt like a real stretch, so I was very proud of myself for getting up early enough to get this done. Of course, next week it’ll be 7 miles when seems massive!

Wednesday Rest day!

Thursday Hill workout on the treadmill – 10 minute warm up at 5-5.5 mph, then four 45 second hill intervals (5.5 mph, 6% incline) with a 1 minute recovery between and a 10 minute cool down. I covered 2.2 miles in that time, but holy cow was I drenched! It didn’t feel too bad during the hill intervals but when I was done my legs were toast! I really enjoy the challenge of these workouts.

Friday 4 miles or cross training – I went the cross training route with a 2 mile walk to lunch with Darrell, which was hot but a nice break during the day (and brought my funky little sweater tying NSV I mentioned yesterday).

Saturday 8 miles @1151 pace – it was crazy hot and humid, so that pace felt really good actually. It was a great run and I was amazed when it was over that while 8 miles was definitely work, it was completely doable. Thanks to the humidity, I was drenched by mile 3 and completely soaked my car seats. Ick! With summer training, I’m going to need to bring a towel or something to protect my car seats after these sweaty runs.

This is only week three of this training plan (15 wks total) and I’m already at 8 mile long runs, which took much longer to arrive at with the Hal Higdon novice plan I did before (wk 8 of 12). I’m proud of myself for being ready for this and looking forward to how this pays off in October!

Saturday night was date night with O, which meant rewatching Frozen, naturally. I took this pic right after he shushed me because "Elsa gonna sing now Mama" and then sat rapt watching her Let It Go. :)

Saturday night was date night with O, which meant rewatching Frozen, naturally. I took this pic right after he shushed me because “Elsa gonna sing now Mama” and then sat rapt watching her Let It Go. 🙂 That song will forever remind of the back half of the Princess Half Marathon!

Sunday Rest day, plus my second strength training workout of the week. I’m definitely noticing a difference in my push ups and planks!

I hope your workout week has gone well! Enjoy your Sunday!

 

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Summer’s back with a vengeance

  1. Awesome job this week! That is so cute that the moose just watched you pass. Did you feel scared/nervous about seeing one at all? I think I would have!

    • It made me more than a little wary. I watched it very carefully until I was out of sight and listened for any movement behind me for a while after that! It looked docile but with any animal, I get a little watchful.

      On Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 10:16 AM, A Little More Each Day wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

