A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

A day full of NSVs

on July 26, 2014

Yesterday, I had a handful of non-scale victories, which were a much appreciated boost in the midst of a summer full of slow, sweaty runs and stagnant numbers on the scale.

– I walked about 3/4 mile up the hill to meet my husband for lunch at a restaurant near my job. Yay for me for walking instead of driving on a hot July day! The NSV, though, was when I took off my sweater to tie it around my waist instead of wearing it because it was so hot. As I was tying it, I thought “Oh wait, this won’t work – this is only elbow length sleeves”. Surprisingly, it did fit around my waist. I remember the days when I couldn’t do that even with my long sleeved sweaters 🙂

Possibly the most awkward selfie of a waist ever

Possibly the most awkward selfie of a waist ever

– I went to Ann Taylor and LOFT to spend my birthday gift cards before they expired at the end of the month. These were definitely my aspirational clothing stores when I started trying to lose weight. I really wanted to be able to walk in there and buy whatever I wanted, not just earrings because I didn’t fit in any of their clothes. Today when I walked in, I actually ended up buying earrings but it was because they didn’t have anything I wanted in a size small enough for me. Wow, how the world has changed. 🙂

– I stopped at the running store to look at some new shoes and for some reason, felt that same first time awkwardness all over again, like I didn’t belong in a store for real runners. I shook that off and went in to ask about new shoes. I was able to talk to them about what I wanted (a different brand shoe to rotate so I wasn’t always running in the same thing, but similar style as I wasn’t having problems with my shoes), my  mileage and my plantar fasciitis. We talked about my upcoming races and I hopped on and off the treadmill with only minimal quiet voices in my head wondering if I was running slower than people normally did on their “test runs” on the treadmill. Of course I belong in a running store. I’m a runner. And I’m a runner who will have new Brooks Ghost 7’s to pick up next week, once the color I requested arrives.:)

What are your NSVs for the week? Shout ’em out!

 

5 responses to “A day full of NSVs

  1. leannenalani says:

    Great NSV’s, especially the Loft. It’s crazy to think about our starting sizes compared to our now sizes. I used to avoid shopping for clothes altogether when I was size 18.

    NSV’s for me would be taking measurement updates instead and yesterday eating what sounded good rather than focusing on what I “should” eat because that’s starting to tear me down a bit.

  2. I love this post! Full of pure awesomeness! Congrats on your NSV’s :0)

Leave a Reply

